![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
A couple of things are not known by your description of this play.
Did the ball touch the rim in any part of this situation? And if the ball did touch the rim, did the ball touch before or after the ball came back to its original position? If the answer is no it did not touch the rim, then you cannot have any violation that involves counting the basket (Basket Interference). At this point all you can have is a T. Shoot the FTs and give the ball to Team A at the division line. Of course if you had the BI called, you would give points, but nothing else would be different in the end. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Are you saying you don't administer the shooting foul?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Except that wasn't the order it occurred in the OP. The Technical occurred before the shooting foul.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Under NFHS rules fouls are administered in the order in which they occur. The FTs for the technical foul with be attempted first by any member of Team A, then players will be allowed to occupy the lane spaces and the FTs for the shooting foul will be attempted by A1. The game will resume as after any normal FT attempts. The throw-in penalty for the technical foul vanishes. It is superceded by the penalty for the next foul. I will make this clear with two examples. 1. B3 is charged with a technical foul. The FTs are attempted and the ball is placed at the disposal of A4 for the ensuing throw-in. While A4 is holding the ball B5 fouls A5 by holding him. The game continues by administering the penalty for B5's foul. Either a throw-in closest to the spot of that foul or bonus FTs for A5. The throw-in which was in progress for the technical foul is halted and then disappears. You never go back to it. 2. A3 begins a try for goal, but has not yet released the ball. A4 is setting a screen for A3. B2 shoves A4 to the ground and then proceeds to foul A3 on the arm while he is releasing the try. Prior to this action Team B had five team fouls. Both fouls are reported and charged to B2 because the ball was live the entire time. The penalty for the foul against A4 would be a throw-in, but since another foul occurred after that we skip that throw-in and proceed to the administration of the penalty for the foul against A3 in the act of shooting. The teams will line up and A3 with attempt FTs. Last edited by Nevadaref; Tue Jul 05, 2016 at 07:59am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Hey, some people worry about the smallest things. ![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
One play you cited is irrelevant because it doesn't deal with technical fouls. The other play you cited is not relevant because the throwin had started for the technical foul, which means the ball became live. You need to come up with something on this one. Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Tue Jul 05, 2016 at 09:56am. |
|
|||
|
To be clear for others reading this thread, the part in red is absolutely wrong under NFHS rules, and giving an unwarranted possession to a team certainly is a major concern, if you ask me.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 10-1-6 Administration ??? | BillyMac | Basketball | 18 | Sun Jun 19, 2011 07:17pm |
| Penalty Administration Question | Nevadaref | Basketball | 15 | Fri Nov 03, 2006 05:34pm |
| penalty administration | jimm_ee22 | Basketball | 6 | Sat Dec 10, 2005 12:54pm |
| Penalty Administration | jimy2shooz | Football | 1 | Mon Sep 29, 2003 07:10am |
| FT Administration | BktBallRef | Basketball | 16 | Tue Mar 20, 2001 11:40am |