![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Or you could just let the R take the ball OOB and move on. I'm not saying it's necessarily the right thing to do, but it's what I would do. Go ahead, Nevada. Do your worst!
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
My recollection is that the third touch didn't coincide with control (i.e. whistle before anyone had control). However, if it happened as you say, you'd be correct.
|
|
|||
|
I didn't see the play. Just going by Dr. Pete saying the jumper ended up with the ball after the ball was touched by a non-jumper. I'm assuming that meant he had control. What say you, Dr. Pete?
|
|
|||
|
Whistle came when Purdue center controlled the ball. Indication by the R seemed to be that it was for him catching it.
__________________
WIAA basketball & Football (Snohomish County, WA) NWAC & GNAC Women's Basketball |
|
|||
|
Quote:
1. The whistle from the R came AFTER the jumper caught the ball, so team control had been established. Therefore, if the officials deem the R to have had an inadvertant whistle, play is simply continued with possession to Purdue as that is the POI. None of your other thoughts on the clock or re-jumping are valid. 2. If you are working an NCAA game, you aren't worried about making the R look like cr@p for kicking a rule. You are worried about not working again next weekend. Coming in and providing a correct ruling in 2OT is exactly what will get an official a spot in the Sweet 16 or maybe even the Final Four. 3. Several of your previous posts on this forum have been excellent and demonstrated quality knowledge of the game. However, you have recently had a couple of howlers on rule situations (Your post on offensive BI, for example.) and a couple philosophy based ones that make me cringe. I'm surprised that you would knowingly let a partner kick a rule at a critical time in a tied game and not throw him a life-preserver. I wouldn't want that kind of partner on my crew. How was that?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I would have expected nothing less! ![]() Regarding point #1, you're right, I recalled it incorrectly, i.e. I didn't recall the jumper getting control (thought he just touched it). Point 3, you may be right but no one has shown me a definitive case or interp yet to support. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Looked to me like he kicked it. The Purdue jumper tipped the initial jump then it "hit the floor" then he hit it again. The whistle followed. I think the referee misinterpreted the rule which says that you cannot touch more than twice. But all those restrictions end when it hits another player, the "Floor", the referee etc. He only hit it twice and it hit the floor. No violation IMHO.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
A partner corrected me this season at the start of a game in a similar play and I was very glad he did. I'd much rather me look dumb for a moment and get the play right as opposed to messing up the rule.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| opening tip | benbret | Basketball | 3 | Sun Jan 29, 2012 12:33am |
| Opening Day | Steven Tyler | Baseball | 7 | Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:26am |
| Opening day... | bdub712 | Baseball | 2 | Mon Feb 13, 2006 02:08pm |
| Opening Day | WhistlesAndStripes | Football | 15 | Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:55pm |
| Opening Tip | Smoke | Basketball | 6 | Sun Feb 06, 2000 12:08pm |