The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Seton Hall/Xavier continuous motion (video request) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101066-seton-hall-xavier-continuous-motion-video-request.html)

JetMetFan Fri Mar 11, 2016 11:53pm

Seton Hall/Xavier continuous motion (video request)
 
Block called with 0:29.0 left in 2nd half. Was ruled a non-shooting foul.

JetMetFan Sat Mar 12, 2016 09:34am

Fine, fine. I'll answer my own request (I was going to bed when I made the OP :p )



<iframe width="960" height="720" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/DCr0-0nLvx4?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Hugh Refner Sat Mar 12, 2016 10:40am

If this was NBA, definitely continuation. If NFHS, then no. NCAA, flip a coin.

In my opinion, it was not continuation. I don't think his arm movement with the ball when the whistle was blown was part of starting a shot.

JRutledge Sat Mar 12, 2016 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hugh Refner (Post 983862)
If this was NBA, definitely continuation. If NFHS, then no. NCAA, flip a coin.

In my opinion, it was not continuation. I don't think his arm movement with the ball when the whistle was blown was part of starting a shot.


The rule in the NBA is basically the same as the NF rule.

NCAA is only different because they require an upward motion.

Peace

Raymond Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hugh Refner (Post 983862)
If this was NBA, definitely continuation. If NFHS, then no. NCAA, flip a coin.

In my opinion, it was not continuation. I don't think his arm movement with the ball when the whistle was blown was part of starting a shot.

NFHS and NBA rule is just about the same. NCAA-M is more restrictive.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

JetMetFan Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:47am

Doesn't upward motion only apply to an airborne shooter? The illegal contact in this play was before the BH/D left the floor.

Also, after a quick scan of the NCAAM rule book I don't see the word "upward" used in connection with airborne shooter situations.

Raymond Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 983868)
Doesn't upward motion only apply to an airborne shooter? The illegal contact in this play was before the BH/D left the floor.

Also, after a quick scan of the NCAAM rule book I don't see the word "upward" used in connection with airborne shooter situations.

We've been told to interpret upward motion as the beginning of the shot.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

Bad Zebra Sat Mar 12, 2016 12:30pm

Looks like a non-shooting common foul to me. Upward motion started a full step after initial defensive contact IMO...however, the "gather" took place right at contact. What do you want to use as the start of the "habitual throwing movement"?

Nevadaref Sat Mar 12, 2016 01:21pm

Forget upward motion, that's a charging foul.
Why is the Lead jumping on this play? This is the C's call. It is a primary defender from above the FT line. Watch the movement of the C after the whistle. I believe that he is going the other way.

Rich Sat Mar 12, 2016 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 983878)
Forget upward motion, that's a charging foul.
Why is the Lead jumping on this play? This is the C's call. It is a primary defender from above the FT line. Watch the movement of the C after the whistle. I believe that he is going the other way.

Good thing that the L saved the C, cause that would've been a horrible call, IMO.

Raymond Sat Mar 12, 2016 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 983878)
Forget upward motion, that's a charging foul.
Why is the Lead jumping on this play? This is the C's call. It is a primary defender from above the FT line. Watch the movement of the C after the whistle. I believe that he is going the other way.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 983879)
Good thing that the L saved the C, cause that would've been a horrible call, IMO.

I feel there is some legitimacy in Nevada's point.

Rich Sat Mar 12, 2016 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 983881)
I feel there is some legitimacy in Nevada's point.

Eh, I don't. I don't think the defender kept LGP.

http://fronheiser.net/LGP.png

JetMetFan Sat Mar 12, 2016 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 983878)
Watch the movement of the C after the whistle. I believe that he is going the other way.

Didn't notice as I watched it live. Yeah, C was loading up to ship that the other way.

JRutledge Sat Mar 12, 2016 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 983882)
Eh, I don't. I don't think the defender kept LGP.

http://fronheiser.net/LGP.png

But if you throw yourself into the defender, LGP may not apply.

Peace

Rich Sat Mar 12, 2016 02:05pm

He's past the defender, who bumps him from behind. I just don't see how you put this on the offensive player...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1