The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Seton Hall/Xavier continuous motion (video request) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101066-seton-hall-xavier-continuous-motion-video-request.html)

JetMetFan Fri Mar 11, 2016 11:53pm

Seton Hall/Xavier continuous motion (video request)
 
Block called with 0:29.0 left in 2nd half. Was ruled a non-shooting foul.

JetMetFan Sat Mar 12, 2016 09:34am

Fine, fine. I'll answer my own request (I was going to bed when I made the OP :p )



<iframe width="960" height="720" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/DCr0-0nLvx4?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Hugh Refner Sat Mar 12, 2016 10:40am

If this was NBA, definitely continuation. If NFHS, then no. NCAA, flip a coin.

In my opinion, it was not continuation. I don't think his arm movement with the ball when the whistle was blown was part of starting a shot.

JRutledge Sat Mar 12, 2016 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hugh Refner (Post 983862)
If this was NBA, definitely continuation. If NFHS, then no. NCAA, flip a coin.

In my opinion, it was not continuation. I don't think his arm movement with the ball when the whistle was blown was part of starting a shot.


The rule in the NBA is basically the same as the NF rule.

NCAA is only different because they require an upward motion.

Peace

Raymond Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hugh Refner (Post 983862)
If this was NBA, definitely continuation. If NFHS, then no. NCAA, flip a coin.

In my opinion, it was not continuation. I don't think his arm movement with the ball when the whistle was blown was part of starting a shot.

NFHS and NBA rule is just about the same. NCAA-M is more restrictive.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

JetMetFan Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:47am

Doesn't upward motion only apply to an airborne shooter? The illegal contact in this play was before the BH/D left the floor.

Also, after a quick scan of the NCAAM rule book I don't see the word "upward" used in connection with airborne shooter situations.

Raymond Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 983868)
Doesn't upward motion only apply to an airborne shooter? The illegal contact in this play was before the BH/D left the floor.

Also, after a quick scan of the NCAAM rule book I don't see the word "upward" used in connection with airborne shooter situations.

We've been told to interpret upward motion as the beginning of the shot.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

Bad Zebra Sat Mar 12, 2016 12:30pm

Looks like a non-shooting common foul to me. Upward motion started a full step after initial defensive contact IMO...however, the "gather" took place right at contact. What do you want to use as the start of the "habitual throwing movement"?

Nevadaref Sat Mar 12, 2016 01:21pm

Forget upward motion, that's a charging foul.
Why is the Lead jumping on this play? This is the C's call. It is a primary defender from above the FT line. Watch the movement of the C after the whistle. I believe that he is going the other way.

Rich Sat Mar 12, 2016 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 983878)
Forget upward motion, that's a charging foul.
Why is the Lead jumping on this play? This is the C's call. It is a primary defender from above the FT line. Watch the movement of the C after the whistle. I believe that he is going the other way.

Good thing that the L saved the C, cause that would've been a horrible call, IMO.

Raymond Sat Mar 12, 2016 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 983878)
Forget upward motion, that's a charging foul.
Why is the Lead jumping on this play? This is the C's call. It is a primary defender from above the FT line. Watch the movement of the C after the whistle. I believe that he is going the other way.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 983879)
Good thing that the L saved the C, cause that would've been a horrible call, IMO.

I feel there is some legitimacy in Nevada's point.

Rich Sat Mar 12, 2016 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 983881)
I feel there is some legitimacy in Nevada's point.

Eh, I don't. I don't think the defender kept LGP.

http://fronheiser.net/LGP.png

JetMetFan Sat Mar 12, 2016 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 983878)
Watch the movement of the C after the whistle. I believe that he is going the other way.

Didn't notice as I watched it live. Yeah, C was loading up to ship that the other way.

JRutledge Sat Mar 12, 2016 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 983882)
Eh, I don't. I don't think the defender kept LGP.

http://fronheiser.net/LGP.png

But if you throw yourself into the defender, LGP may not apply.

Peace

Rich Sat Mar 12, 2016 02:05pm

He's past the defender, who bumps him from behind. I just don't see how you put this on the offensive player...

BigCat Sat Mar 12, 2016 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 983884)
Didn't notice as I watched it live. Yeah, C was loading up to ship that the other way.

Yes C was going the other way. The upward motion stuff is in AR 111:

"Examples of the act of shooting include raising the ball up with the hand or arms to shoot a layup or jump shot.....This act of shooting does not include picking up the dribble, catching (gathering) the ball or advancing on the court with one or both feet."

The NCAAM continuous motion rule does not include the foot movement language that is in the nfhs definition.

JetMetFan Sat Mar 12, 2016 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 983889)
Yes C was going the other way. The upward motion stuff is in AR 111:

"Examples of the act of shooting include raising the ball up with the hand or arms to shoot a layup or jump shot.....This act of shooting does not include picking up the dribble, catching (gathering) the ball or advancing on the court with one or both feet."

Thanks. I downloaded the rule book but not the case book.

Nevadaref Sat Mar 12, 2016 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 983889)
Yes C was going the other way. The upward motion stuff is in AR 111:

"Examples of the act of shooting include raising the ball up with the hand or arms to shoot a layup or jump shot.....This act of shooting does not include picking up the dribble, catching (gathering) the ball or advancing on the court with one or both feet."

The NCAAM continuous motion rule does not include the foot movement language that is in the nfhs definition.

Don't be confused. The NFHS continuous motion rule REQUIRES the act of shooting to begin in order for the player to THEN be given the right to complete his customary foot movement and pivoting. The reverse is not true. The foot movement doesn't not equate to the start of the act of shooting.

Nevadaref Sat Mar 12, 2016 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 983888)
He's past the defender, who bumps him from behind. I just don't see how you put this on the offensive player...

Simply not true. The defender is in front the entire time. He is allowed to turn his body sideways after already having established ILGP. The offensive player puts his shoulder down and leads with it as he rams into the defender. The offensive player is not airborne at the time of contact, so the sideways movement of the defender is not a factor.

This is an easy PC.

Rich Sat Mar 12, 2016 02:43pm

Disagree. Guess we may as well move on.

bob jenkins Sat Mar 12, 2016 02:52pm

I would NOT have a shot under NFHS or NCAA.

And, I have a block.

Blindolbat Sat Mar 12, 2016 03:33pm

I don't see him extend his arm or anything that would've made me think offensive, so I've got a block with no shots.

Raymond Sat Mar 12, 2016 03:37pm

I see it. But one could argue that the defender was not legal at the time of contact. I think either call can be supported.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

Adam Sat Mar 12, 2016 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 983868)
Doesn't upward motion only apply to an airborne shooter?

No


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1