The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 22, 2016, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by packersowner View Post
In a situation where there is no Head Coach present to assess a technical, what is the procedure? For instance, a couple of situations that have come up for discussion:

1. Scorekeeper notifies officials at halftime that player from Team A is not in the book, but played the last 2 seconds of the half. Team B is still on the court, Team A has headed to the locker room.

2. Coach of Team A takes team to locker room while administering FT's that occurred to end the half. Team B is shooting free throws.

3. Player uses profanity going to the locker room towards officials, coaching staff is already in locker room.


We discussed that most of these can be administered at the start of the 2nd half, but one of the challenges that came up is that if the technical free throws could have been shot before the half time break, the possession arrow would stay as-is. However, if you end up shooting these in the second half, what is the impact on the possession arrow vs. giving the possession to team that shot the technical fouls. Thoughts on these scenarios?
1. 3.2.2C says it is not a T unless player comes in game in second half. its goofy but clearly stated.

2. quarter isn't over until all FTs shot. When A leaves the floor that's a T that takes place during the second quarter. 2 more Fts for B before they leave. Arrow is used to start 3rd QTR.

3. The second quarter is over. T to start 3rd quarter. arrow is not used. The throw in will be for the T.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 22, 2016, 04:53pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,524
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
1. 3.2.2C
3.2.2 SITUATION C: Team A substitute No. 25 reports to the table for the first
time with approximately one minute remaining in the second quarter and is beckoned
onto the court. In (a), the ball is put in play by a throw-in from A1 to A2.
The horn sounds and the scorer informs the officials that No. 25 is not listed in
the scorebook. In (b), No. 25 plays the remainder of the second quarter. During
halftime intermission, the official scorer realizes No. 25 is not listed in the scorebook
and informs the officials when they return to the court before the start of
the third quarter. RULING: In (a), No. 25 is currently in the game and became a
player when he/she legally entered the court. Since his or her name and number
must now be entered into the scorebook, a technical foul is charged to Team A.
In (b), no penalty is assessed since No. 25 is not currently in the game. If No. 25
attempts to enter the game in the second half, his or her name and number will
be added to the scorebook and a technical foul charged to Team A. (3-2-2b; 10-
1-2b)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head Coach jcm1932x Football 2 Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:26am
Head Coach? OKREF Football 2 Sat Sep 20, 2014 04:35pm
Head coach... or not... DesMoines Basketball 8 Wed Feb 02, 2011 04:42pm
head coach jpenny Basketball 38 Thu Feb 21, 2008 02:23pm
Head Coach PIAA REF Basketball 4 Sat Dec 17, 2005 03:13am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1