The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Jan 30, 2016, 12:04am
Official Forum Member

Distance and Time Off

Curious about normal operating procedures where some of you all work regarding a couple topics. First off: Distance. What is the furthest you routinely (so not rare instances, but rather typical assignments) travel for HS games? How about JUCO games? D1 I would assume is considerably further. My closest possible varsity game is 15 minutes, but everything after that is over an hour, with the furthest being a little over 3 hours drive. JUCO up to 4.

2nd, do your employers work with you as far as time off is concerned? (I'm a teacher, so while I'm more interested in those responses, I'd like to see others' responses as well to think about from an assigner's POV.) Do you have to take personal time or is not a big deal? I'm lucky enough to teach in a district that has been very supportive and will work with me to find "creative coverage" of my classes when possible.
Old Sat Jan 30, 2016, 03:20am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
Curious about normal operating procedures where some of you all work regarding a couple topics. First off: Distance. What is the furthest you routinely (so not rare instances, but rather typical assignments) travel for HS games? How about JUCO games? D1 I would assume is considerably further. My closest possible varsity game is 15 minutes, but everything after that is over an hour, with the furthest being a little over 3 hours drive. JUCO up to 4.