The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Jan 29, 2016, 09:11am
Official Forum Member

Comfort

This is probably going to be somewhat of a strange topic because I have no idea where it's going.

I have been refereeing for 17 years now. I absolutely love it. But regardless the level of the game, I feel more comfortable working with certain people then I do with others.

I have a group of about 10 people that I completely enjoy working with. I think it's a matter of trust in them and them in me. Whereas other people that I work with we don't know one another as well and I feel like they are judging me on my calls.

Is this common amongst other officials? What I mean, is this group of people that I work with and feel comfortable with, I pretty much know how they are going to call the games and I know what they're going to call.

I work about maybe 70 games a year from middle school to varsity high school. Both 2 & 3 person games. I would say I get about maybe 20 games a year with my closest friends in the Association.
Old Fri Jan 29, 2016, 09:23am
Official Forum Member

I think it's very common among officials. I too have group of a few that I know we call a lot better game because I know I can trust them that much more and don't feel obligated to "stretch" my PCA to be sure we don't miss critical plays. I work pretty well with most people, but there are those few that I could literally not pregame a single word, and the game would go as smooth as any.
Old Fri Jan 29, 2016, 09:26am
Official Forum Member

Why would this be any different than any other aspect of life?

You work with a bunch of people, and get along better with some than with others.

You go to church with a bunch of people, and get along better with some than with others.

You go to the gym and see a bunch of people -- and get along better with some than with others.