The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2016, 09:48am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The NBA rule is different than the NFHS rule?

Why are you disagreeing strongly with your partner about a judgment call he made? Give your opinion constructively and move on.

I wasn't there so I don't know what the contact was, but the most I would say is "do you think you could have passed on that contact considering the game situation?"

I do not feel like poring through the NBA Rules Book this morning (too many things to do around the house) but if my memory serves me correct (and I am getting senile as I get old), while the wording is different from the language in the NFHS and NCAA Rules Books, the application is the same in all three rules codes.

I am sure that someone more versed in the NBA Rules will come along and enlighten us.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2016, 10:04am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrroberts View Post
Boys Varsity game.. 4th quarter and maybe 3-4 minutes remaining. Visiting team is winning by 30.

Visiting player drives to the basket and the lead calls a foul and counts the bucket. I'm the trail and didn't have a foul call as I had incidental contact. I'm not concerned on the foul call and whether or not it was a foul but the lead counts the bucket. The contact that I saw was certainly before the shot. He had already signaled and counted the bucket.

After the game I asked him about the call and he said he believed the player had started his shooting motion and started to go up. I still disagree and disagree strongly. The home coach also disagreed and had a few words to say to let the other official know this wasn't the NBA but he was down 30 and that point so he didn't put up that much of a fight.

Any thoughts on how best to handle? Appreciate any feedback.

You do realize that originally you said you passed on the play b/c you thought it was incidental contact? So you disagreed with your partner's judgment twice on this play, whether it was even a foul and whether the contact occurred during the shooting motion.

What did your partner say in regards to why it was a foul and why it was in the act of shooting?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2016, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Iowa
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
You do realize that originally you said you passed on the play b/c you thought it was incidental contact? So you disagreed with your partner's judgment twice on this play, whether it was even a foul and whether the contact occurred during the shooting motion.

What did your partner say in regards to why it was a foul and why it was in the act of shooting?
Correct, but I wasn't so much concerned with the foul call as I was the awarding the basket to count. There was certainly some contact... I passed as I thought the offensive player created the contact but there really wasn't an advantage gained so I had a no call.

All he said was that he thought the player had started the shooting motion at the time the foul occurred. This was only the 2nd time I had worked with this gentleman. He explained what he felt he saw, I think I saw something different. Didn't figure we needed to go any further at that point.

At the time of the game, I had contemplated coming together with him to discuss the call. Sounds like I made the correct decision and letting it go.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2016, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrroberts View Post
All he said was that he thought the player had started the shooting motion at the time the foul occurred.
If his "thoughts" are correct, then he made the right call -- and he used the right logic.

Quote:
Sounds like I made the correct decision and letting it go.
That's true for almost all such calls.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2016, 10:40am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
Partners frequently have a different look.

Last night I had a blocked shot right in front of me. I had it clean up top. Trail did not, called a foul. I was pretty damned close to the play and did my best to get a good, open look.

Defensive coach right in front of the T said nothing to him. Nor to me.

I'm sure my partner was right. Drive came out of his primary and I'd have no problem with either one of us getting something on this play.

I really don't get into the business of evaluating my partner's calls during a game.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2016, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
I agree with what Rich said regarding the fact that to many officials incorrectly DO NOT award shooting fouls when they should.

Also from what you have posted I would suggest you brush up on what defines a shot and continuous motion. Taking a step does not negate a shot attempt after a foul.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1