The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2015, 10:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 152
Goaltending wasn't called

I believe the officials need to blow the whistle and call goaltending to score the basket. It would be a correctable error if an official called goaltending and play was stopped, but the scorer failed to award two points and then at a later time before the officials left the court it was realized that the scorekeeper never recorded the two poiints.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2015, 10:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffM View Post
I believe the officials need to blow the whistle and call goaltending to score the basket. It would be a correctable error if an official called goaltending and play was stopped, but the scorer failed to award two points and then at a later time before the officials left the court it was realized that the scorekeeper never recorded the two poiints.
The official has to make a call. Goaltending/basket interference. once the call is made if he fails to award two or three points when the defense was the team committing the violation it is a correctable error. Also correctable if he calls goaltending/basket interference and awards points when the offense was the team that violated. they both must be fixed within rule's limits.

When the referee makes a proper call and counts the basket but the scorer fails to put the points up or in book that is a bookeeping error that can be corrected at any time before officials leave confines etc...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2015, 10:55pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffM View Post
I believe the officials need to blow the whistle and call goaltending to score the basket. It would be a correctable error if an official called goaltending and play was stopped, but the scorer failed to award two points and then at a later time before the officials left the court it was realized that the scorekeeper never recorded the two poiints.
Yours isn't a correctable error, it's a scoring error that can be corrected at any point before the officials' jurisdiction ends.

A CE would be the officials calling GT or BI, then telling the scorer not to award the points for some reason. It's not a common scenario.

The OP is not a CE.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1