Thread: Is This a CE?
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2015, 10:36pm
BigCat BigCat is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffM View Post
I believe the officials need to blow the whistle and call goaltending to score the basket. It would be a correctable error if an official called goaltending and play was stopped, but the scorer failed to award two points and then at a later time before the officials left the court it was realized that the scorekeeper never recorded the two poiints.
The official has to make a call. Goaltending/basket interference. once the call is made if he fails to award two or three points when the defense was the team committing the violation it is a correctable error. Also correctable if he calls goaltending/basket interference and awards points when the offense was the team that violated. they both must be fixed within rule's limits.

When the referee makes a proper call and counts the basket but the scorer fails to put the points up or in book that is a bookeeping error that can be corrected at any time before officials leave confines etc...
Reply With Quote