![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
That said, there is no reason you can't have a count in the closing seconds of a game. In fact, it is good game management to count everything in the closing seconds for this very reason. Don't go slinging your arm around when there is no count required by rule. Only the "official" counts should be visible. But, have a count in your head for everything at the end of a game...then you'll be able to make adjustments (by rule) when they are needed.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
I think this discussion comes up every year. From an interpretation several years back (2009-2010 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations) it was suggested that officials make some allowance for time off the clock on a legal touch.
I think the consensus is that in the case you describe, no time comes off of the clock as you don't have definative knowledge. However, I think there are some who would argue that removing "tenths of a second" for the touch is supported in the case book. The official has definitive knowledge that more than 0.0 seconds should have run off the clock if the ball was legally batted out by the defense. --- In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 -- likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A "do over" is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1) --- |
|
|||
|
Let's Go To The Videotape ... ...
Quote:
2009-2010 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1’s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2’s touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2’s throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Nov 04, 2015 at 11:40pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
So my deduction is that the NFHS probably regrets creating this interp in the first place. The subjectivity of "likely tenths of a second" is contrary to the objective standard of "definite knowledge." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I work with a women's college official (also one of my assignors) who absolutely insists on taking off .3 seconds in this situation where the ball was touched out of bounds and no time came off.
I have never taken time off arbitrarily like that but I am considering starting to do so. It seems like the right thing to do, and is not explicitly outlawed by rule. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Adjusting Clock to Remove Time Under 1 Second Remaining | rekent | Basketball | 23 | Wed Apr 01, 2015 12:38pm |
| Game clock shows time remaining in time-out -- against the rules? | Lotto | Basketball | 7 | Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:10am |
| FTs with no time on clock | Johnny Ringo | Basketball | 16 | Sun Feb 13, 2011 04:00pm |
| Does time need to come off the clock on TO? | Hardwood | Basketball | 23 | Wed Mar 11, 2009 10:57pm |
| Putting Time on the Clock for Requested Time Out | CMHCoachNRef | Basketball | 10 | Sun Mar 01, 2009 09:20pm |