The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 24, 2015, 05:20pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
Are The Officials Correct

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
A1 is attempting the last free throw. B4, standing in the 2nd lane space, abruptly brings their arms up aggressively over their head as A1 is bringing the ball up to shoot. The try is missed, and the ball is rebounded. Officials allow play to continue. True or False
Of course the answer is true. All of this happened, including the officials allowing the play to continue. If the play was videotaped, I'm pretty sure that we would observe all of this. What could be false about it? Is the question writer known to lie in describing situations that occur on the court?

Who wrote this very poorly worked true/false question?

B4, a singular player, yet the question describes "their" arms, instead of "his", or "her", arms".

Better question:

A1 is attempting the last free throw. B4, standing in a marked lane space, abruptly brings his arms up aggressively over his head, and disconcerts A1, who is bringing the ball up to shoot. The try is missed, and the ball is rebounded. Officials allow play to continue. Are the officials correct? Yes or no.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Oct 25, 2015 at 10:26am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 24, 2015, 09:35pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
A1 is attempting the last free throw. B4, standing in a marked lane space, abruptly brings his arms up aggressively over his head, and disconcerts A1, who is bringing the ball up to shoot. The try is missed, and the ball is rebounded. Officials allow play to continue. Are the officials correct? Yes or no.

This is the key. If disconcertion is a given, the answer is obvious. But disconcertion is a judgment call. From here, I can't tell if the arm movement amounts to disconcertion or not. So there is no way one can say from reading this question that the officials are not correct.

Having said all that, I probably missed the question on the test.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 25, 2015, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 117
Intentional

A better question is "Does disconsertion have to be intentional". Players in marked lane spaces routinely lose their balance and stumble around without crossing the lines and violating. Should this still be considered disconsertion if it messes up the shooter while they are in their shooting motion?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 25, 2015, 10:31am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
Disconcertion ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno View Post
A better question is "Does disconsertion have to be intentional". Players in marked lane spaces routinely lose their balance and stumble around without crossing the lines and violating. Should this still be considered disconsertion if it messes up the shooter while they are in their shooting motion?
Yes, it's still disconcertion. Nothing is stated regarding intent in the written rule.

9-1-3-C: No opponent shall disconcert the free thrower.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 25, 2015, 10:33am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
"I GOT SHOOTER! I GOT SHOOTER!"
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 25, 2015, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar View Post
"I GOT SHOOTER! I GOT SHOOTER!"
99% of the time this is well before the shooter begins the try (and 84.6 % of the time it's before s/he even has the ball). It's nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 25, 2015, 12:05pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
Citation ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
...84.6 % of the time it's before s/he even has the ball.
84.6 %? Reference please.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 26, 2015, 03:55pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar View Post
"I GOT SHOOTER! I GOT SHOOTER!"

If you are playing HS basketball and this affects your ability to shoot a free throw, you should really think about taking up another sport.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 26, 2015, 11:06pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
Distraction ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar View Post
"I GOT SHOOTER! I GOT SHOOTER!"
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
If you are playing HS basketball and this affects your ability to shoot a free throw, you should really think about taking up another sport.
In my high school game, if an opponent is screaming this from a marked lane space, or from behind the arc, or, possibly, even from the bench, while the free throw shooter is in the act of shooting, and if I feel that this is a distraction to the free throw shooter, I will call the delayed violation every time. If the free throw misses, we're shooting again.

9.1.3 SITUATION D: ... The free thrower is entitled to protection from being distracted. It is the opponent’s responsibility to avoid disconcerting the free thrower.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Oct 26, 2015 at 11:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 28, 2015, 01:11pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
I Ignore Quite a Few Other Rules, Too

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
If you are playing HS basketball and this affects your ability to shoot a free throw, you should really think about taking up another sport.
That's why, whenever a defender appears to disconcert a free thrower I NEVER CALL IT.
Instead, I kill the play and ask the free thrower if he was disconcerted. If he says "No", I go to the AP arrow. If he says "Yes", I ask the coach for a sub and counsel the player to go straight to the locker room and quit.
Happens maybe three or four times a year.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 25, 2015, 10:33am
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno View Post
A better question is ...
...since the rule says, "No opponent shall disconcert the free thrower", can a player not on the floor commit a disconcertion violation?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 25, 2015, 10:41am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
"Miss, You Idiot" ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
...since the rule says, "No opponent shall disconcert the free thrower", can a player not on the floor commit a disconcertion violation?
From the bench? Absolutely. An opponent not on the floor can commit a disconcertion violation. The rule states, "opponent", not, "player".

9.1.3 SITUATION D: ... The free thrower is entitled to protection from being distracted. It is the opponent’s responsibility to avoid disconcerting
the free thrower.

In thirty-five years, I've never called this in an interscholastic game, but I have called it once, in a recreation game, and I was confident that my call had the full support of the NFHS rule, as written.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Oct 25, 2015 at 11:35am.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 26, 2015, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
...since the rule says, "No opponent shall disconcert the free thrower", can a player not on the floor commit a disconcertion violation?
If they aren't on the floor, they aren't a player, they are a team member or substitute. I assume you are talking about a team member of the opposing team sitting on the bench.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 25, 2015, 10:37am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno View Post
A better question is "Does disconsertion have to be intentional". Players in marked lane spaces routinely lose their balance and stumble around without crossing the lines and violating. Should this still be considered disconsertion if it messes up the shooter while they are in their shooting motion?
Nothing in the rule book states whether intent is or isn't an element of disconcertion.

9.1.3 SITUATION D tells us " If the official judges the act in either (a) or (b) to be disconcerting, it shall be penalized."

Based on this, I say it is entirely up to the judgment of the official.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 25, 2015, 10:39am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
There's No Judge In Judgment ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
This is the key. If disconcertion is a given, the answer is obvious. But disconcertion is a judgment call.
9.1.3 SITUATION D: The ball is at the disposal of free thrower A1. B1, within
the visual field of A1: (a) raises his/her arms above the head; or (b) after his/her
arms have been extended above the head, alternately opens and closes both
hands. RULING: B1 may be penalized in both (a) and (b). The official must judge
whether the act distracts the free thrower. If the official judges the act in either (a)
or (b) to be disconcerting, it shall be penalized. The free thrower is entitled to
protection from being distracted. It is the opponent’s responsibility to avoid disconcerting
the free thrower. (9-1-3c Penalty 2)

9.1.3 SITUATION E: After A1 starts the free-throw motion, B1 commits a
common foul on A2 along the lane before the bonus rule is in effect. RULING: Even if
the foul occurs before the ball is in flight, the throw counts if successful. No
substitute try is awarded if the throw is missed. In either case, whether the throw
is made or missed, the ball is awarded to Team A at the out-of-bounds spot
nearest to where the foul occurred. If, in the opinion of the official, A1 has been
disconcerted, a substitute throw shall be awarded if the try is unsuccessful. (4-
11; 9-1-3c Penalty 2)

9.1.3 SITUATION G: As A1 starts the free-throwing motion, B1 hurriedly raises
his/her arms. In the judgment of the official, the action of B1 disconcerts A1
and causes the attempt to miss the basket ring. RULING: As soon as the ball
misses the ring, it becomes dead. Since free thrower A1 violated following disconcertion,
a substitute free throw is awarded. (9-1-3a Penalty 4c)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1