The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 25, 2015, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
balk or not

Runner on 2nd. Right handed pitcher in set position. Runner leads off and breaks for 3rd. Pitcher steps toward 3rd and throws. Runner retreated back to 2nd. Offensive coach wants a balk for throwing to an unoccupied base. I called no balk because pitcher with the intent to make a play. Who's right, please? Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 25, 2015, 11:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil447 View Post
Runner on 2nd. Right handed pitcher in set position. Runner leads off and breaks for 3rd. Pitcher steps toward 3rd and throws. Runner retreated back to 2nd. Offensive coach wants a balk for throwing to an unoccupied base. I called no balk because pitcher with the intent to make a play. Who's right, please? Thank you.
FED you're right.
OBR, with changed wording I think you're right.
The pitcher can throw or feint to an unoccupied base for the purpose of making a play.
NCAA I'll have to check or some else will chime in.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 26, 2015, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
balk or not

Thanks, Jim. I appreciate your response.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 26, 2015, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil447 View Post
Thanks, Jim. I appreciate your response.
I think my OBR response needs to be modified. In your sit F1 threw to 3B to drive back the runner. I don't think he could have feinted there in OBR.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 29, 2015, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil447 View Post
Thanks, Jim. I appreciate your response.
Found the NCAA interp.

14. 9-1a—May a LHP lift his stride leg straight up without breaking the plane of the back edge of the pitcher’s plate and turn inside and throw to second base in an attempt to retire a runner from first base who is stealing on the movement?
A pitcher may throw to an unoccupied base in an attempt to retire an advancing runner. As long as the motion is one continuous motion, it is legal. If the pitcher stops at the top (where his lower leg and thigh make a 90-degree angle) before he turns inside, a balk shall be called. The stopping and restarting constitute two moves and not one continuous motion.
A balk would also be called if the runner from first bluffsand goes back to first and the pitcher follows thru with the throw to second.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 29, 2015, 07:55pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
I think my OBR response needs to be modified. In your sit F1 threw to 3B to drive back the runner. I don't think he could have feinted there in OBR.
Interesting. 8.05(b) says he can't feint to 3b, but 8.05(d) says he can't feint a throw to an unoccupied base, except for the purpose of making a play. Since the intent of 8.05(b) was to remove the 3rd to 1st move, with runners on 1st and 3rd, I suspect he can still feint to an unoccupied base for purpose of making a play (ie drive back a runner) on an advancing runner from 2b.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 29, 2015, 10:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
Interesting. 8.05(b) says he can't feint to 3b, but 8.05(d) says he can't feint a throw to an unoccupied base, except for the purpose of making a play. Since the intent of 8.05(b) was to remove the 3rd to 1st move, with runners on 1st and 3rd, I suspect he can still feint to an unoccupied base for purpose of making a play (ie drive back a runner) on an advancing runner from 2b.
Thus why I said "I think". Some have simplified that 3B is the new 1B. So would F1 have to throw to 3B as he would to 1B, in one case throwing ahead of an advancing runner and in the other behind.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 30, 2015, 07:31pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
Thus why I said "I think". Some have simplified that 3B is the new 1B. So would F1 have to throw to 3B as he would to 1B, in one case throwing ahead of an advancing runner and in the other behind.
To be accurate, you said "I don't think". My excerpts from the rules makes me think he can throw or feint to unoccupied 3b for purpose of making a play or driving back a runner, who logically, would be advancing from 2b, not at 3b already.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 30, 2015, 10:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
To be accurate, you said "I don't think". My excerpts from the rules makes me think he can throw or feint to unoccupied 3b for purpose of making a play or driving back a runner, who logically, would be advancing from 2b, not at 3b already.
To be more accurate, I both said I think and I don't think. I would like to think that you are right and MLB/OBR did not consider unintended consequences.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 04, 2015, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
To be accurate, you said "I don't think". My excerpts from the rules makes me think he can throw or feint to unoccupied 3b for purpose of making a play or driving back a runner, who logically, would be advancing from 2b, not at 3b already.
This might be a balk for feinting to 3B with a runner going, or might not:

Blackman advances on balk | MLB.com
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 04, 2015, 08:12pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
This might be a balk for feinting to 3B with a runner going, or might not:

Blackman advances on balk | MLB.com
I saw this game on TV. After the video we see there was much discussion about whether his non pivot passed the rubber, thus the balk when he threw to 3b. And of course he did not feint to 3b to drive a runner.

The second video, I don't see a balk.

And lastly, announcers are inaccurate, as usual.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
I saw this game on TV. After the video we see there was much discussion about whether his non pivot passed the rubber, thus the balk when he threw to 3b. And of course he did not feint to 3b to drive a runner.

The second video, I don't see a balk.

And lastly, announcers are inaccurate, as usual.
The step and throw was after the first step. The balk was either a balk for feinting to 2B without a proper step or a feint to 3B.
I don't know what second video you're referencing.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 05:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Quote:
"The balk was either a balk for feinting to 2B without a proper step "
It is STILL impossible to balk to an occupied second base.

Tee
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2015, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C View Post
It is STILL impossible to balk to an occupied second base.

Tee
According to the Dodger feed which I think was Orel Hershiser, they picked up from the field mike that Nelson said the pitcher did not make a legal step.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Balk/No Balk: LHP fients pickoff the 3rd base Mike6221 Baseball 4 Sun Jun 07, 2009 09:47pm
RHP in stretch facing 1st base (balk or no balk) tem_blue Baseball 6 Thu Jul 20, 2006 10:00pm
Stealing Home, P in Windup, Balk or No Balk? johnnyg08 Baseball 2 Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:12am
To Balk Or Not To Balk, That Is The Question.. chuckfan1 Baseball 21 Wed Sep 03, 2003 03:21pm
Balk, Balk Yells the Coach!!! Gre144 Baseball 12 Tue Jul 10, 2001 07:32am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1