![]() |
|
|
|||
Drawing a line? Bad idea. Hell, I wipe out the inside portion of the batter's box lines prior to a game if they're there. If I see a batter I think is closer than 6 inches, I tell him to back up. No one's pulled a Carl Everett on me yet.
__________________
Jim Porter |
|
|||
Re: I'll bet
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
I believe what Tony was referring to was the ASA rule that if the batter does not adhere to the umpire's instruction to get inside the box completely, then the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. Think inside the box. Once again, baseball and softball are two different games.
__________________
"If you want something that is fair in life, hit a ball between first and third base." John Palko Pittsburgh, PA |
|
|||
OK on that note. Batter is in the box at the time of the pitch but his foot ends up touching the plate when he contacts the ball. I have been told and read that even though part of his foot is still in the box, since he is on the plate call him out for being out of the box. True? not? true ony per umpire "unwritten law" (you know, ones like it is not a strike if the catcher drops the ball)?
__________________
Jim Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in. |
|
|||
Quote:
OBR - Legal
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
FED Reference
Yes for FED ... OUT! Rule reference is 7-3-2
A Batter Shall Not: ART. 2... Hit the ball fair or foul while either foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box or touching home plate. Penalty: for infraction of Art. 2... the ball becomes dead immeditately and the batter is out.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|