The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Aug 29, 2003, 10:04pm
Official Forum Member

This is my first year umpiring. Pee Wee (12-13 yrs old)tournament. Team A pitcher has a strong outing for 5 innings. In the 6th, he starts to lose control and velocity a bit. Team B clean up hitter hits a massive three run homer. Next batter, first pitch is over his head. This pitcher had been around the plate all game. I immediately warn him and his manager. I did not however warn Team B pitcher or manager as I often see Major League umpires do. We finished the game with no other incidents.

Here is my question for some feedback. Would you warn both teams? I just felt that there had been no ill will between the two teams up to this point and that warning Team B seemed heavy handed considering the only thing they did wrong was to hit the ball too hard. Does anyone feel that a warning is not justified? Considering it was the first pitch of the game that was anywhere near a bean ball.

Jay
Old Fri Aug 29, 2003, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member

I am astonished that you have 12 year olds coached to throw at batters after a home run. Are you really sure this was intentional?

I don't work 12 year olds, but I assign that level and watch the games. I don't think I'd have issued a warning.

However, if one of my umpires issued a warning, I'd expect him to do it by the book.
Old Sat Aug 30, 2003, 02:04pm
Official Forum Member

seems pretty unnecessary to me. after a 12 year old gives up a bomb hes going to be a bit frazzeled and if he didnt throw the ball over the next batters head i would be surprised. they are 12, i doubt it would be intentional to hit the kid after a homerun. i would have let it go especially that late in the game too.
Old Sun Aug 31, 2003, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
However, if one of my umpires issued a warning, I'd expect him to do it by the book.