The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 17, 2014, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ulster County, NY
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
I missed the following question on a test:

With a runner on third (R3) a batter hits a ball that drifts over foul territory. The third baseman is accidentally prevented by the runner R3 from catching the ball.



What's the call?

Answer was that the batter is out. I'm struggling to wrap my brain around that answer.

Does the "accidental" aspect play into the ruling at all?

Does fair/foul have an impact on who is out?

Tell me what questions I'm not asking myself.

Are you reading the question (Fed Test) correctly? There are two different questions on the test, one right after the other with almost the exact same wording. One has the 3rd base coach "accidentally" interfering with a foul fly ball catch; the other has the runner at 3rd "accidentally" interfering with a foul fly catch. Both of them are "outs," though two different players are declared out.

Read Rule 7-4-1(f), then Casebook plays 7.4.1(H) and 8.4.2(B)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 17, 2014, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookie View Post
Are you reading the question (Fed Test) correctly? There are two different questions on the test, one right after the other with almost the exact same wording. One has the 3rd base coach "accidentally" interfering with a foul fly ball catch; the other has the runner at 3rd "accidentally" interfering with a foul fly catch. Both of them are "outs," though two different players are declared out.

Read Rule 7-4-1(f), then Casebook plays 7.4.1(H) and 8.4.2(B)

28) With a runner on third, the batter hits a high pop fly that drifts over foul territory. The third baseman is accidentally prevented from catching the ball by the runner at third base.
1. Foul ball. YOUR ANSWER
2. The runner at third is out.
3. The batter is out.
4. The coach is restricted to the bench and the coaching box must remain unoccupied.
Reference: 8-4-2g



I copied the question and the answer I got back. I see why my answer was wrong. I just can't figure out why the batter is out. You can't see it from what I copied but they have a mark next to both my answer and the correct answer. They have 3 as the correct answer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missed Field Goal Question bradriney Football 4 Mon Sep 03, 2012 08:20pm
Missed base question TwoBits Baseball 6 Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:32pm
Missed Base Appeal Question mrm21711 Baseball 18 Thu Feb 26, 2009 10:42pm
Missed NFHS Test Question umpduck11 Baseball 90 Mon Feb 18, 2008 07:18pm
starting clock question on missed free throw? roadking Basketball 8 Fri Nov 17, 2006 03:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1