![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Bad call. This was no attempt. And it only lead fuel to the fire of those idiots that continue to yell, "Tag him, you can't turn left!!!"
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
No Left Turn
But Alvarez turned to his right to return to 1st base.
__________________
-LilLeaguer |
|
|||
|
He went marginally left after passing first before turning to return. And for some flabbergasting reason was called out for it.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
This was a bull $hit call and if any amateur umpire out there makes a call like this, he is a bull $hit umpire! There was no attempt to go to 2nd base and all this call does is support idiots who say turning left is an attempt.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
|
It was a correct call. The B/R neither overran nor overslid the base, both of which imply the runner is attempting to reach 1st base as his primary goal. Instead he was gauging whether he could try to advance to second.
Even under-educated fans who want an out called because a B/R "turned left" after overrunning 1st will notice that in this case the runner wasn't even remotely trying to beat the ball to the bag. And, what do you suppose caused the defense to tag him? |
|
|||
|
...but he did overrun the base by 15 feet?
He gauged whether he could advance to second 2/3 of the way to the base, did that little turn, saw F6 was going to have it and he'd be hosed if he actually rounded, then shut it down and coasted through the bag. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
1. The runner clearly overran the base and "returns immediately". 2. What rule is he violating by "gauging whether he could try to advance to second"? 3. The rule has nothing to do with the action of the runner before he get to the bag. 4. Was there a attempt or feint by the runner to advance to second , once he overran the bag? Now I will admit "on video replay" there seemed to be some hesitant move on the runners part when he "arrived" at the base. Which probably contributed to the out call however that was marginal at best. |
|
|||
|
Where we seem to differ here is the meaning of "overrun or overslide". IMO, in the context of this rule, these are not synonyms for "went past". Instead, the runner needs to be trying to reach 1st base as his primary goal, i.e. trying to beat a real or imagined throw. Note that Evans interprets this rule as not applying to a runner who was awarded a base on balls, because the B/R has (usually) no reason to go past first base. He can decelerate before he reaches the bag. FED (8-2-7) explicitly excludes a base on balls. The point of 7.08(j) is to allow the runner to reach 1st base as quickly as he can.
In the OP, the runner wasn't trying to beat a throw, and he did move toward 2nd base. Nor was the move toward 2nd part of the return to 1st. Regarding your point 2, of course the runner didn't violate any rule; he simply was tagged while off the base and the provisions of 7.08(j) weren't met. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In the post-game, I concluded it was a "bull $hit call," (a determination the manager made in about five seconds) but it was made at the time without the benefit of any reflection. I haven't made the jump to thinking it made me a "bull $hit umpire!" |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| ASA Nats.......... | derwil | Softball | 20 | Wed May 18, 2011 10:05am |
| ? on attempted shot | oldschool | Basketball | 4 | Thu Jan 21, 2010 03:42pm |
| Reds vs. Bucs - Short hop play in CF | Larks | Baseball | 3 | Sun Apr 09, 2006 08:01am |
| Attempted dunk | JB | Basketball | 12 | Sun Feb 06, 2005 03:06pm |
| Colts/Bucs game | Snake~eyes | Football | 11 | Fri Oct 10, 2003 08:36am |