The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 07, 2006, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,104
Reds vs. Bucs - Short hop play in CF

A question from a Cincinnati basketball guy....

Reds vs. Bucs last night...

2 outs...

1st and 2nd - fly ball to short CF

CF dives and catches the ball on the bounce. After a second or two the 3rd base ump signals out. The Pirates leave the field and of course the Reds argue.

The umps get together and talk it out. They over ruled the catch, and put the batter runner on first. Advanced the guy on 1st to second and had the guy on second score.

Good from a Reds fan's perspective but my question is actually, why does the guy on second get to score? I get putting him on third? Is it umpires discretion is this case? Although with two outs the runners were moving so "most" guys would have most likely scored. What if there were only one out?

Thanks

Larks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 07, 2006, 04:45pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
I am sure the umpires took into consideration that the runner on 2nd had already rounded 3rd and would have scored easily with two outs. With one out the runner on 2nd would have had to wait and see if the ball was caught. He would have been totally confused by the umpires call, since it was quite obviously not caught. They likely would have placed him at 3rd, and placed R1 at 2nd, and the BR at 1st with a single.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 08, 2006, 08:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larks
The umps get together and talk it out. They over ruled the catch, and put the batter runner on first. Advanced the guy on 1st to second and had the guy on second score.
Wow. Even if they kicked the call, I don't think this is one I would likely "overturn"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 09, 2006, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Wow. Even if they kicked the call, I don't think this is one I would likely "overturn"

Someone must have had a very clear different view is my only guess. The replay on TV showed it short hopped the CF by maybe 8 inched to a foot (easy to see on replay). So, they got it right.

I'll bet Jim Tracy felt like an idiot arguing to the point of ejection only to see the replay and be 100% wrong. Although maybe he was arguing scoring the runner or not.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In short supply! Michael-Plentysquirrel Basketball 14 Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:26am
sliding short bethsdad Softball 3 Mon Feb 23, 2004 06:04am
Colts/Bucs game Snake~eyes Football 11 Fri Oct 10, 2003 08:36am
1 Inch Short tw1ns Basketball 1 Fri Dec 06, 2002 01:31am
Short timeout Mark Dexter Basketball 5 Mon Jan 28, 2002 08:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1