The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 12, 2013, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Is there a new link to this play? The link supplied seems to have changed.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 12, 2013, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 177
It is still there, click on the link on the right "Brown's RBI single"

MLB.com Gameday | MLB.com: Gameday
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 12, 2013, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Seems to me your trying to guess why LaRoche went into foul territory. One could equally assume that he went into foul territory to avoid getting plowed into by the BR, who made no attempt to veer away from LaRoche as LaRoche approached the ball.

Suffice it to say this could have gone either way, and I would have chosen to give the defense the benefit of the doubt here.
Really Manny! Why do you insist on inserting yourself into the game. Thats like saying I will call the runner safe because I know he can run faster than that.

Nobody comes to the games to watch you umpire!!!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 12, 2013, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
jice, I'm completely confused by your replies now.

You tell me that if an umpire needs slo mo replay to make this interference call, he needs remedial help... then you tell Manny he's wrong for making an interference call.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 12, 2013, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Hopefully I can explain.

Manny is trying to say that the fielder choose to go over the foul line and field the deflected batted fair ball because he did not want to get in the way of the BR. "His interpretation" seems to imply that because he saw the F3 avoid the runner, it was to aviod interference and therefore is, interference.

I am saying that interference can not be called on an assumption that F3 would have been interferred with, if he wasn't interferred with. It has to happen and if it does (intentional or not) then it would be interference.

You implied that when you watched the slo-mo replay, you also believed this could be interference. I am saying fast-mo or slo-mo, it was never interference because the fielder never took the route where he was "ABSOLUTELY protected "en-route" to fielding a ball".
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 12, 2013, 02:13pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
Really Manny! Why do you insist on inserting yourself into the game.
Because, that's what we're supposed to do when we use our judgment, is it not?

You say I'm inserting myself into the game by deciding LaRoche was affected by the runner. Are you not inserting yourself into the game by deciding LaRoche veered off into foul territory because he chose to go there and wait? How do you know that's what he intended on doing all along? If that's really the case, why didn't he just beeline it in that direction instead of heading toward the ball and then turning off?

Yes, he had the right of way toward the ball, but he decided at the last second to avoid the runner. That, to me, is enough evidence to warrant an interference call. Doing anything to avoid a runner while making a play on a batted ball is interference.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 12, 2013, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
Hopefully I can explain.

Manny is trying to say that the fielder choose to go over the foul line and field the deflected batted fair ball because he did not want to get in the way of the BR. "His interpretation" seems to imply that because he saw the F3 avoid the runner, it was to aviod interference and therefore is, interference.

I am saying that interference can not be called on an assumption that F3 would have been interferred with, if he wasn't interferred with. It has to happen and if it does (intentional or not) then it would be interference.

You implied that when you watched the slo-mo replay, you also believed this could be interference. I am saying fast-mo or slo-mo, it was never interference because the fielder never took the route where he was "ABSOLUTELY protected "en-route" to fielding a ball".
So you seem to be requiring the fielder to run through a charging runner in order to get an interference call. This one is simple - the runner was where the fielder needed to go to field the ball. As soon as the fielder changed paths to avoid the runner, it was interference.

By your logic, you could never have obstruction either if a runner veered around a fielder. After all, you don't KNOW that he didn't just choose to take a crooked path to the base.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 12, 2013, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
So you seem to be requiring the fielder to run through a charging runner in order to get an interference call. This one is simple - the runner was where the fielder needed to go to field the ball. As soon as the fielder changed paths to avoid the runner, it was interference.

By your logic, you could never have obstruction either if a runner veered around a fielder. After all, you don't KNOW that he didn't just choose to take a crooked path to the base.
No I don't think F3 is going to "TRY" and get an interference call, I am sure he is more interested in fielding the ball. However had he tried and the runner collided with him, yes then there would have been interference. But that is not how it happened and that is our job to rulle on what happened.

Now as far as obstruction, I don't know if he "just choose to take a crooked path to the base" or not but, I can see that as a result of the fielder hanging out or obstructing, the runner was delayed in getting to the next base. Root cause is obvious. Assuming gets you in trouble.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 12, 2013, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
So you seem to be requiring the fielder to run through a charging runner in order to get an interference call. This one is simple - the runner was where the fielder needed to go to field the ball. As soon as the fielder changed paths to avoid the runner, it was interference.

By your logic, you could never have obstruction either if a runner veered around a fielder. After all, you don't KNOW that he didn't just choose to take a crooked path to the base.
Well put.

Rita
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 12, 2013, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
No I don't think F3 is going to "TRY" and get an interference call, I am sure he is more interested in fielding the ball. However had he tried and the runner collided with him, yes then there would have been interference. But that is not how it happened and that is our job to rulle on what happened.

Now as far as obstruction, I don't know if he "just choose to take a crooked path to the base" or not but, I can see that as a result of the fielder hanging out or obstructing, the runner was delayed in getting to the next base. Root cause is obvious. Assuming gets you in trouble.
Hmmm.

OK, A) Why say Try, and put it in quotes even ... when I didn't SAY or even IMPLY that F3 was trying for anything. Replace "for him to get an interference call" with "for you to call interference" if you need to. F3 isn't TRYING anything. He's fielding a ball, and then veers away - and had he not veered away, he would have collided with the runner. You don't have to read anyone's mind here. You can SEE the runner in his path, and you can SEE him change directions because of that runner.

B) The standard for INT on this play and OBS on the other play is EXACTLY the same. The fielder has the right to field a batted ball - when runner got in his way, he was in jeopardy of an INT call --- and when fielder reacted to him, you have interference - exactly as you would have OBS if the roles were reversed.

Given that it seems you're an intelligent and competent umpire in most of these discussions - I'm beginning to wonder if you're merely sticking to your guns for the sake of winning an argument. It's completely OK to say, "Well, upon further review, I may have been mistaken earlier."
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 12, 2013, 03:29pm
UES UES is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 83
Gentlemen,

Below are three scenarios (same or similar to the original play) that illustrates how the rule(s) is applied at the NCAA and PRO levels:

Play #1: B1 hits a ground ball that is deflected by the pitcher and rebounds near the foul line by 1st base. F3 moves towards the ball and just as he's about to field it, the B/R makes contact with the fielder while legally running to 1st base. This is INTERFERENCE

Play #2: B1 hits a ground ball that is deflected by the pitcher and rebounds over near the foul line by 1st base. F3 moves towards the ball, and, while doing so contacts the B/R who is legally running to 1st base before he could attempt to field the ball. This is OBSTRUCTION

Play #3: B1 hits a ground ball that is deflected by the pitcher and rebounds over near the foul line by 1st base. F3 moves towards the ball but his momentum is slowed or stopped because of B/R who is legally running to 1st base. This is "THAT'S NOTHING" ... which what was correctly ruled in the original play - although I think U1 could have given a verbal "that's nothing" followed by a safe mechanic.

NOTE: Moving towards the ball is just PART of the attempt to make a play and the fielder is generally not protected (ie. the farther away he is from gloving the ball, the LESS protected he is). Now, when the fielder is in the actual act of fielding (gloving) the ball, he is protected (ie. the closer he is to gloving the ball, the MORE protected he becomes).

Let the debating continue ...

Last edited by UES; Fri Jul 12, 2013 at 03:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 12, 2013, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by UES View Post
Gentlemen,

Below are three scenarios (same or similar to the original play) that illustrates how the rule(s) is applied at the NCAA and PRO levels:

Play #1: B1 hits a ground ball that is deflected by the pitcher and rebounds near the foul line by 1st base. F3 moves towards the ball and just as he's about to field it, the B/R makes contact with the fielder while legally running to 1st base. This is INTERFERENCE

Play #2: B1 hits a ground ball that is deflected by the pitcher and rebounds over near the foul line by 1st base. F3 moves towards the ball, and, while doing so contacts the B/R who is legally running to 1st base before he could attempt to field the ball. This is OBSTRUCTION

Play #3: B1 hits a ground ball that is deflected by the pitcher and rebounds over near the foul line by 1st base. F3 moves towards the ball but his momentum is slowed or stopped because of B/R who is legally running to 1st base. This is "THAT'S NOTHING" ... which what was correctly ruled in the original play - although I think U1 could have given a verbal "that's nothing" followed by a safe mechanic.

NOTE: Moving towards the ball is just PART of the attempt to make a play and the fielder is generally not protected (ie. the farther away he is from gloving the ball, the LESS protected he is). Now, when the fielder is in the actual act of fielding (gloving) the ball, he is protected (ie. the closer he is to gloving the ball, the MORE protected he becomes).

Let the debating continue ...
Not the OP but, with a fair bunted ball about halfway down the 1B line, do you require the pitcher to get trucked or can he pull up because the runner is running straight at and over the ball.
The definition of Offensive Interference does not even have the word contact in it.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 12, 2013, 04:17pm
UES UES is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
Not the OP but, with a fair bunted ball about halfway down the 1B line, do you require the pitcher to get trucked or can he pull up because the runner is running straight at and over the ball.
The definition of Offensive Interference does not even have the word contact in it.
Contact is not required, HOWEVER, 99x out of 100, interference calls on batted balls occur when a runner makes CONTACT with a fielder who is in the immediate act of fielding the ball. I'm sure there's a play or two when interference can be called on batted balls WITHOUT contact (ie. like some are saying about the original play in question), but I can't really think of any.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 12, 2013, 08:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 785
For those asking for interference, do you call interference when F6 charges a ground ball for a couple steps, stops and put his glove down to field the ball one step behind R2's path? Do you try to make a determination if he stopped there so as not to get "run over" by R2?
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 12, 2013, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North, TX
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
So, it's your position that the fielder has to make a bonafide attempt to get to the ball and not avoid a collision? How does what LaRoche did not qualify for being hindered or impeded?
You do see it a lot. Groundball to F6 or F4. Defenders could charge the ball and create contact and get the interference easily. Instead, they do yield to the runner and field the ball after they pass. You don't see interference called on these kind of plays...doing so would be OOO above kiddie ball level.

In this play, F3 couldn't get to the ball before BR passed. If he was a step or two closer he could have gotten to the ball in fair territory and had a play. I think F3 just gave up on it. One could possibly see interference, but I wouldn't bail out the defense out on that effort.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Umpire Interference / Batter Interference bob jenkins Baseball 17 Mon Feb 06, 2012 09:57pm
batters interference/interference by teammate _Bruno_ Baseball 7 Mon Apr 07, 2008 07:28am
Interference: TOP or TOI? bossman72 Baseball 3 Fri Feb 23, 2007 09:11am
Interference or Not? Nyjets Football 9 Wed Sep 27, 2006 04:36pm
Runner interference versus umpire interference Jay R Baseball 1 Thu Apr 28, 2005 07:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1