Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn
Hmmm.
Given that it seems you're an intelligent and competent umpire in most of these discussions - I'm beginning to wonder if you're merely sticking to your guns for the sake of winning an argument. It's completely OK to say, "Well, upon further review, I may have been mistaken earlier."
|
Mike, believe me if I think I am wrong I will be the first to admit. I can't officiate based upon what I think may have happened but my ruling has to be on what actually happened. Probably the one interp in Fed ball that asks us to do differently is a bad throw to first on RLI. OBR and NCAA says the quality of the throw counts. Fed asks us to assume that the fielder could have made a good throw but, didn't because the BR was there. Not crazy about it but that is how they want it called.
Again, interference does not have to be intentional but it does have to be interference. In this I don't believe it was. If you feel differently then that's ok, we can agree to disagree and move on.
Enjoy the weekend.