![]() |
|
|
|||
Crazy thing...
Watched the replay of the game yesterday on ESPNU. BR was out of the lane but as most have said it happened right at the bag. Mainly because of the double clutch gave BR time to make it there. Couldn't tell if maybe he had no one to throw it to, if it got stuck in the glove or what. But anyway, I see where a RLV could have been called here. But IMO, It should have been called after the double clutch, as the ball was being released, and before it got to the bag.
Well, I have a FED V game yesterday, I got the dish. Wouldn't you know it. Bases loaded, 1 out, Same EXACT play happens! I mean EXACTLY! (Except F5 fielded it coming toward the mound). Throw to the plate, out on the force, steps inside, throws to 1st where F3 is set up inside, hits runner on the right shoulder (outside) who is now just inside on his last stride to the bag. I had nothing! AND, not one complaint.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words". |
|
|||
Then you desperately need to re-read the rule. There CANNOT be RLI at this point. Period. In any rule set.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
Rule clearly states, while the ball is being thrown to first base.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words". |
|
|||
Not a lot of rules make much sense when you only quote about 1/6 of it. Look at the entire rule ... specifically - what the runner must interfere with for us to rule interference.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
NCAA-fielder MLB-fielder Sorry, my point earlier was FED on the throw, we are talking NCAA. But you said not in any rule set. Would I be correct in FED RLI can be called on the throw? When did I say the double clutch was a reason to call a RLV? I was describing the play in question!
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words". Last edited by thumpferee; Mon May 06, 2013 at 11:02am. Reason: Edited to say..When... |
|
|||
Quote:
The runner still has to interfere to be guilty of interference. For example, if the catcher double clutches, then throws, and the runner beats a good throw anyway - no INT. Or if the catcher DC's and throws, and the runner is back in the lane before he affects the first baseman at all - again, no INT. I'll say this again. Running out of the lane is not illegal. INTERFERING while out of the lane is illegal. (And in FED, being the CAUSE of a bad throw while out of the lane is also illegal).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Your last statement is what I was looking for MD.
The double clutch is irrelevant, was just a little giveaway that runner may have been out of the lane is all.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words". |
|
|||
Quote:
"If the batter-runner is outside the running lane and alters the throw or interferes with the attempted catch of the thrown ball or is hit by the throw, the batter-runner shall be called out." |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me? |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Running Lane violation | dileonardoja | Baseball | 17 | Thu Jul 12, 2012 04:21pm |
3' running lane violation on BB? | PSUchem | Softball | 51 | Tue Nov 24, 2009 01:20pm |
Running lane violation? | David Emerling | Baseball | 25 | Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:38am |
ASA - running lane violation with a walk | Dakota | Softball | 34 | Thu Sep 25, 2003 09:57am |
running lane violation | Rachel | Softball | 4 | Thu Jul 10, 2003 09:03pm |