![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Double-clutching is the catcher's fault, not the BR's. You cannot justify a violation because the catcher failed to throw immediately.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
It is not justification for that call, it is evidence of a RLV. When F2 did release the throw B was more than a step or two from reaching 1B and in fair territory the whole trip. IMO B interferred with F3 attempt to glove a quality throw.
Last edited by bluehair; Fri May 03, 2013 at 10:27am. |
|
|||
|
Whether the catcher does a double clutch or a backflip before throwing is not evidence of anything at all, and is entirely irrelevant. The only thing that matters (assuming a runner outside the lane, which this guy was, and assuming a quality throw) is whether he interferes with the ACTUAL throw that was made.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
You added after my reply!
![]() If this is your opinion on the play, then it's definitely interference. My point on this play was that I can't tell that from this angle and at this speed. I don't THINK it was... but I don't KNOW that it wasn't.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
I hit the "save" button after your reply. I hadn't seen your reply before I started editting my incomplete post, but that;s neither here or there.
B gets to be in fair territory to touch 1B, and I'd give him a step or two grace (if he's not interferring). When B re-enters the video (throw has already been made), he is in fair territory with several strides to go before reaching 1B. It looked to me like F3 was getting his teeth out of the way because of B's interference. Does RLV interference happen in an instant (as the ball passes B) or is RLV interference an on-going process from the time of throw to the attempted gloving? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
So, where you say... ...the ball is still a significant distance from first base at that point. No umpire is going to kill play when the ball is still in flight behind the BR.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
But to answer - very close to the former. The latter is absurd in context of the rule as written and enforced. But I do know in advance that you won't believe that statement coming from me.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
This is SEC right - big time D1 NCAA. Not some LL minors team from Scrubville.
If I read this right the catcher double-clutched, couldn't find a lane, and then F3 had the ball hit him in the glove and he dropped it. I might ask for a call just to see if I could get it but we'd be running the drill a whole bunch of times next practice because I know who really screwed up.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me? |
|
|||
|
This. The double-clutch is irrelevant. There is no doubt F2 got off a quality throw in time to beat the B/R, who was never in the running lane. It's an easy play for F3 if the B/R is running legally. I have INT.
|
|
|||
|
Unfortunately the rule doesn't let you make that call.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Running Lane violation | dileonardoja | Baseball | 17 | Thu Jul 12, 2012 04:21pm |
| 3' running lane violation on BB? | PSUchem | Softball | 51 | Tue Nov 24, 2009 01:20pm |
| Running lane violation? | David Emerling | Baseball | 25 | Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:38am |
| ASA - running lane violation with a walk | Dakota | Softball | 34 | Thu Sep 25, 2003 09:57am |
| running lane violation | Rachel | Softball | 4 | Thu Jul 10, 2003 09:03pm |