![]() |
|
|
|||
Ground rules question
Situation: Batted ball lands fair down left-field line, hooks past outfield fence into out-of-play area. Outfielder does not signal with two hands raised, but rather chases ball into out-of-play area. Does the ball become dead by the simple fact that it rolled out of play, or rather when fielder signals that it has done so? As the third-base coach, in the absence of a signal, I had batter-runner continue around the bases. After a lengthy conference, the umpires returned him to second base. I contended that in pre-game, umpires had emphasized that on ball in that area, or ball rolling under outfield fence, play would continue in the absence of an outfielder signal. Interpretations and citations, please? Thanks in advance.
|
|
|||
Out of play is out of play. Chasing after it does not keep it live.
BTW the outfielder signal just means he thinks the ball is out of play. Only the umpire can actually declare the ball out of play. Their pre-game did not mean that they couldn't declare the ball put of play - only that it should be treated that way until a determination could be made. You were right to keep the runner going just in case the ball was not out of play. Sounds like it was caled correctly.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong Last edited by Rich Ives; Sat Mar 30, 2013 at 10:17am. |
|
|||
The fielder raising his hands is just indicating (a) "hey -- umpire -- come out and take a look", and (b) "I didn't touch / push the ball out of play."
When a ball in near the bottom of the fence, there's no real way to tell from the infield whether it's just in play or just out of play. So, if the fielder grabs it, we're going to assume it was always in play. And, if he reaches for it, we're possibly going to assume that he pushed it out of play to "hold" the runner to a double. |
|
|||
At a pre-game conference, I have seen to many times where everyone shakes their heads and then something like this happens and it still questionable what was said in the pre-game. In an area as discussed, it should be clearly obvious that when the ball goes in dead-ball territory, it is a dead ball and book rules apply accordingly.
I always mention at the plate, "if the ball goes under the fence or in the tarp, or any other dead ball area , tell your OF's to put up their hands , we will let the play continue and complete. We will then go out and make a determination of the award if any". Now, do the coaches explain that to the OF's, I don't know, but it pays to make sure everyone understands the ground rules. In Carl Childress's book, "151 ways to Ruin a Baseball Game", this is No. 1. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
Are those the same guys who see the need to itemize all twenty-nine places in the fence where a ball might possibly leave the field of play?
|
|
|||
Quote:
I umpired on a field that had a tarp in front of the backstop. At the base of the tarp right behind home plate, there was a good 12-inch tear. A ball could go through the tear and end up behind the tarp. There were plenty of times where the catcher would go digging for the ball when that happened. Just because he did that, it doesn't mean the ball should stay live. You can see the ball is out of play, so make the call.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Odd Ground Rules | SRW | Softball | 9 | Fri Oct 17, 2008 01:11am |
Ground Rules ? | Chess Ref | Softball | 9 | Wed May 21, 2008 10:15am |
ground rules | JJCpops | Softball | 8 | Wed Feb 04, 2004 11:50pm |
ground up by ground rules | refjef40 | Softball | 4 | Mon Mar 18, 2002 11:43am |
question on the ground rules | ump0001 | Baseball | 2 | Sun May 20, 2001 08:00pm |