The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 18, 2012, 02:49pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rita C View Post
I do Little League (and some high school). I see intent to take out the second baseman, which may be not be illegal in the bigs, but translates to malicious contact for me at the levels I do.

Rita
That might a stretch in FED. Can you enforce FPSR, and malicious contact I suppose would be the better question. I can see that, but most likely not on a play of this type.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 18, 2012, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
Explain your thought process on that. What about that slide would make calling MC correct but nitpicking (or, alternatively, how do you define being a plumber)?
I don't think there is any way calling MC is correct in this situation, even in FED. I believe there are guys out there, like johnnyg said, that would call MC, but I don't believe it to be correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
I have this same question. If this is not a cross body block, what is an example of one (serious question)?
I've kind of been pondering this myself as well. If this isn't a cross body block, then what is?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 18, 2012, 04:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
That's been answered.

If a runner hits the dirt, slides and rolls, it does not constitute a rolling block unless the runner leaves his feet and makes contact with the fielder before the runner slides on the ground. If the initial contact is with the fielder instead of the ground for the purpose of breaking up a double play, it is a roll block.

From the MLBUM

The initial contact was with the ground, not the fielder. He hit the dirt, slid, and rolled. The exact thing they are saying is NOT a roll block.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 18, 2012, 04:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
No, the initial contact was with the player and the base, the ground was not contacted until after or once contact had been made. There was no slide ahead of the base, or anything that resembled a slide by any normal definition, prior to contact or simultaneously made with contact.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 18, 2012, 11:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Crashing baseman?

He's allowed to crash in MLB. He is not allowed to crash in NCAA or FED.

The slide may have been legal, but the upper body, arms wailing out toward the baseman was not legal. Given the slide over the bag, directly into the player, I would eject him for crashing into the baseman. I have Interference, intentionally slashing with his arms and upper body while trying to trip up the second baseman.

More like reckless indifference or deliberate blindness, while causing injury to another person.

"the word "maliciously" does import upon the part of the person who unlawfully inflicts the wound or other grievous bodily harm an awareness that his act may have the consequence of causing some physical harm to some other person … It is quite unnecessary that the accused should have foreseen that his unlawful act might cause physical harm of the gravity described in the section, i.e. a wound or serious physical injury. It is enough that he should have foreseen that some physical harm to some person, albeit of a minor character, might result."
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Thu Oct 18, 2012 at 11:59pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 19, 2012, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
"the word "maliciously" does import upon the part of the person who unlawfully inflicts the wound or other grievous bodily harm an awareness that his act may have the consequence of causing some physical harm to some other person … It is quite unnecessary that the accused should have foreseen that his unlawful act might cause physical harm of the gravity described in the section, i.e. a wound or serious physical injury. It is enough that he should have foreseen that some physical harm to some person, albeit of a minor character, might result."
Who or what are you quoting?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 19, 2012, 09:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPatrino View Post
No, the initial contact was with the player and the base, the ground was not contacted until after or once contact had been made. There was no slide ahead of the base, or anything that resembled a slide by any normal definition, prior to contact or simultaneously made with contact.
This is what I saw too. He grazed the base with his leg as he went to the ground, but he contacted the fielder before he started any kind of slide on the ground.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 20, 2012, 11:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Mlbum 6.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Who or what are you quoting?
The MLB standard guideline is willful and deliberate interference on an obvious attempt to break up a double play. That's not the same guideline governing the collision at home plate.

If the umpire judges that the runner willfully and deliberately interfered with the obvious intent to deprive the defense of the opportunity to make a double play, the umpire shall declare both the runner and the batter-runner out.
OBR 7.09e.

Example 2. Runner on first and third, no outs. Runner on first is stealing as batter hits a ground ball to shortstop. Anticipating a double play, runner from first intentionally rolls into and grabs the second baseman who is covering second and waiting for the throw from the shortstop.
Ruling: Runner on first willfully and deliberately interfered with a fielder with the obvious attempt to deprive the defense of the opportunity to make a double play. Runner from first is declared out and so is the batter-runner. Runner returns to third.
__________________
SAump
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 19, 2012, 11:07am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPatrino View Post
No, the initial contact was with the player and the base, the ground was not contacted until after or once contact had been made.
Oh, so now you're suggesting that the base is NOT part of the ground. Hmmm, and all this time...
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 19, 2012, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by manny a View Post
oh, so now you're suggesting that the base is not part of the ground. Hmmm, and all this time...
+1
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 19, 2012, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
So, that's the new way to teach 'sliding'? Jump on the base and then zero in on the second baseman? Okee Dokee

+1
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Holiday Greetings Andy Softball 0 Wed Nov 24, 2010 09:10am
Legal slide? Interference? Dakota Softball 11 Mon Oct 15, 2007 06:33pm
Holiday Tournaments tjones1 Basketball 21 Sun Dec 31, 2006 05:53am
Holiday poem Mark Padgett Basketball 2 Mon Dec 26, 2005 02:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1