The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2012, 07:23pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
The umpires got it correct: no run scores. It's not a force play, and "continuing action" is irrelevant.

The BR acquired 1B when he passed it, but acquiring it is not sufficient to score the run. He must touch it.

4.09a:
One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first,
second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a
play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first
base
; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is
declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1