The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 16, 2012, 11:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Hand to mouth, FED

I found this in my 2002 high school rule book.

6-2-1 Illegal acts include bringing the pitching hand in contact with the mouth without distinctly wiping off the pitching hand before it touches the ball.

6-2-1 Penalty: for defacing the ball (a-e) the ball is dead immediately. The umpire may eject the pitcher. If such defaced ball is pitched and then detected, it is an illegal pitch.

6-2-4c balk if making an illegal pitch from any position.

But (assuming it hasn't changed in the last ten years) it isn't an illegal pitch unless the ball is PITCHED! So just going to the mouth shouldn't be a balk?

I bring this up because this was apparently miscalled in a Senior Little League World Series game. Little League uses OBR so the infraction should have been penalized by a ball to the batter. Unfortunately, the umpires ruled by "high school rules".

But did they? or has the penalty changed since 2002?

Rita
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 17, 2012, 12:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rita C View Post
I found this in my 2002 high school rule book.

6-2-1 Illegal acts include bringing the pitching hand in contact with the mouth without distinctly wiping off the pitching hand before it touches the ball.

6-2-1 Penalty: for defacing the ball (a-e) the ball is dead immediately. The umpire may eject the pitcher. If such defaced ball is pitched and then detected, it is an illegal pitch.

6-2-4c balk if making an illegal pitch from any position.

But (assuming it hasn't changed in the last ten years) it isn't an illegal pitch unless the ball is PITCHED! So just going to the mouth shouldn't be a balk?

I bring this up because this was apparently miscalled in a Senior Little League World Series game. Little League uses OBR so the infraction should have been penalized by a ball to the batter. Unfortunately, the umpires ruled by "high school rules".

But did they? or has the penalty changed since 2002?

Rita
Here's what you're looking for from 2012 NFHS rules, Rita.

For infraction (e), a ball shall be awarded each time
a pitcher violates this rule and subsequently engages the pitching plate.

Without a pitch it should have been ruled a ball. Unless F1 went to his mouth after coming set.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 17, 2012, 12:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56 View Post
Here's what you're looking for from 2012 NFHS rules, Rita.

For infraction (e), a ball shall be awarded each time
a pitcher violates this rule and subsequently engages the pitching plate.

Without a pitch it should have been ruled a ball. Unless F1 went to his mouth after coming set.


Tim.
Even with runners on?

Rita
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 17, 2012, 12:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rita C View Post
Even with runners on?

Rita
I think there's a case play that says going to the mouth with runners on base while in contact is to be ruled a balk.

Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 17, 2012, 03:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ulster County, NY
Posts: 125
Tim: "I think there's a case play that says going to the mouth with runners on base while in contact is to be ruled a balk."

2011 FED Casebook
6.1.3 SITUATION O: With R1 at third and R2 at first, F1 is in contact with the pitcher’s plate but has not yet come set. He brings his pitching hand to his mouth and distinctly wipes it off. RULING: Balk, award R1 home and R2 second. The pitcher cannot bring his hand to his mouth because the pitcher is required to go to the set position without interruption and in one continuous motion.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 17, 2012, 07:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Send a message via Yahoo to rcaverly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rita C View Post
But (assuming it hasn't changed in the last ten years) it isn't an illegal pitch unless the ball is PITCHED!
NFHS 2-18 defines an illegal “pitch” as an illegal “act.” No pitch is required. If F1 commits the illegal act at 6-2-1e, the violation is penalized in one of three ways:

1. Ball, if committed with a live ball while not in contact an subsequently comes in contact; or,
2. Ball, if committed with a live ball while in contact with no runner/s on base; or,
3. Balk, if committed with a live ball while in contact with runner/s on base; or,

By the way, the “act” is ruled nothing if committed with a live ball while F1 is not in contact and subsequently the status of the ball is declared dead before F1 comes in contact.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 17, 2012, 05:02pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56 View Post
I think there's a case play that says going to the mouth with runners on base while in contact is to be ruled a balk.

Tim.
You're wrong, but hey isn't that your modus operadi.

All the best!
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 17, 2012, 08:56pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler View Post
You're wrong, but hey isn't that your modus operadi.

All the best!
Except that for NFHS rules, he's exactly right.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hand-to-mouth aceholleran Baseball 4 Tue Jul 05, 2011 08:29pm
NCAA Ruling on hand to mouth for Pitchers pastordoug Baseball 12 Mon Mar 22, 2010 11:07am
"The hand is considered part of the ball when the hand is in contact with the ball mendi Basketball 22 Fri Nov 13, 2009 08:04pm
COL-PHL Hand to mouth to ball umpjim Baseball 12 Fri Oct 09, 2009 09:15pm
Going to Mouth FED njdevs00cup Baseball 14 Mon Mar 30, 2009 09:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1