View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 17, 2012, 03:05am
cookie cookie is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ulster County, NY
Posts: 125
Tim: "I think there's a case play that says going to the mouth with runners on base while in contact is to be ruled a balk."

2011 FED Casebook
6.1.3 SITUATION O: With R1 at third and R2 at first, F1 is in contact with the pitcher’s plate but has not yet come set. He brings his pitching hand to his mouth and distinctly wipes it off. RULING: Balk, award R1 home and R2 second. The pitcher cannot bring his hand to his mouth because the pitcher is required to go to the set position without interruption and in one continuous motion.
Reply With Quote