The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2003, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
OBR 7.08b, commentary

"A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not."

" If, the umpire declares the hindrance intentional, the following penalty shall apply: With less than two out, the umpire shall declare both the runner and batter out. With two out, the umpire shall declare the batter out"

This is also covered under 7.09g "Interference by a runner".

Did anyone ask the officials why they made the ruling they did? Mabey they didn't see the interference and in that case the batter would be out. Why the runner was returned?

Interference would take precedence over the IFF. However it seems like the two rules were mixed together and the outcome was what you ended up with.

The above seems to imply that if the interference was non-intentional, then R1 would be out and B1 on first.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1