The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 14, 2012, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
batter accidentally kicks foul ball

The batter hits a slow roller toward 1st base. The ball is barely in foul territory when the batter accidentally kicks the ball while running to 1st. It is unclear whether the ball would have remained foul. Ruling? (both FED and OBR)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 14, 2012, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
OBR 6.05(i) Batter is out when....After hitting or bunting a foul ball, he intentionally deflects the course of the ball in any manner while running to first base. The ball is dead and no runners may advance;...

FED 7-4-1(i) Batter is out when ... he intentionally deflects a foul ball which has a chance of becoming fair.

accidentlly = foul ball
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 14, 2012, 03:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
OBR 6.05(i) Batter is out when....After hitting or bunting a foul ball, he intentionally deflects the course of the ball in any manner while running to first base. The ball is dead and no runners may advance;...

FED 7-4-1(i) Batter is out when ... he intentionally deflects a foul ball which has a chance of becoming fair.

accidentlly = foul ball
I think that we should start thanking members for looking up rules for posters who can't be bothered to even try.

Thank you rbmartin
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 14, 2012, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
The reason I asked the question has much more to do with the interpretation of "accidentally" and "intentionally". I'm perfectly aware of these rules as written.

I have heard it said that a "kick" (even if running and even if it seems accidental) is always interpreted as "intentional" for the purpose of such rules that require intent.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 14, 2012, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Emerling View Post
The reason I asked the question has much more to do with the interpretation of "accidentally" and "intentionally". I'm perfectly aware of these rules as written.

I have heard it said that a "kick" (even if running and even if it seems accidental) is always interpreted as "intentional" for the purpose of such rules that require intent.
I once kicked a chair leg while walking through the kitchen barefooted. It was not intentional. It still hurt though.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 14, 2012, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Emerling View Post
The reason I asked the question has much more to do with the interpretation of "accidentally" and "intentionally". I'm perfectly aware of these rules as written.

I have heard it said that a "kick" (even if running and even if it seems accidental) is always interpreted as "intentional" for the purpose of such rules that require intent.
Right, so you know the rule (I knew you did, by the way) and the rest is your judgement. In your opinion, did the batter "kick" the ball (intentional) or did his foot contact the ball while he was running (he made no odd movement, he just ran and contacted the ball - therefore, unintentional).
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 14, 2012, 08:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Glen Burnie, Md
Posts: 371
This is why some people are afraid to post
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2012, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 220
I had this situation last night at a LL match:

A batter's swing hits the ball up and towards first base. It bounces two feet inside fair territory about 30 feet down first base line. The spin carries it sharply towards foul territory, where it deflected off the batter-runner's right shin, which was about even with the running lane line (at least two feet in foul territory).
I immediately call foul ball. Defense's coach wants me to call the batter out. I refuse stating contact was made in foul territory. I reset, and continue play with the foul ball call. My partner, who has played since his childhood, called for decades and is old as the mountains, showed no reservations about my call.
Do the other members here feel that the case described above is a foul ball, an out, or something else?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2012, 04:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 388
jchamp, If the batted ball was over foul territory when touched, then your call was correct.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pitcher accidentally drops ball (FED) David Emerling Baseball 14 Mon Mar 05, 2012 09:47am
Batter kicks d3k bisonpitcher Baseball 26 Fri Apr 24, 2009 08:14am
batter kicks the ball out of play _Bruno_ Baseball 33 Sat Sep 22, 2007 06:00pm
Batter Kicks Fair Ball in Batters Box bwbuddy Baseball 27 Mon Apr 23, 2007 06:49pm
Dropped third strike, batter-runner kicks the ball Gre144 Baseball 9 Tue Mar 11, 2003 11:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1