The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue May 01, 2012, 10:19pm
Official Forum Member

Kind of sounds like what I have been doing for 25 years. "Two more pitch, two more catch. "Batter!" "lets go guys".

The problem in HS is the different levels of play, even at Varsity, sometimes its difficult without looking like a nitpicking ahole. The good teams are never the problem and the bad teams well!!!. I have seen some Varsity ball this year that you had to end in two hours because they weren't going to make it to the 4th inning.

Its great to be consistent from game to game in the enforcemnet of rules but sometimes you just have to umpire. Did about 28 Var. games ths year and maybe half were decent baseball. To try to enforce time penalties consistently would be next to impossible.

I understand it has worked good at the College level which I think has more reasonable allowances. Too bad some officials let it get out of hand.
Old Tue May 01, 2012, 10:37pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
Kind of sounds like what I have been doing for 25 years. "Two more pitch, two more catch. "Batter!" "lets go guys".

The problem in HS is the different levels of play, even at Varsity, sometimes its difficult without looking like a nitpicking ahole. The good teams are never the problem and the bad teams well!!!. I have seen some Varsity ball this year that you had to end in two hours because they weren't going to make it to the 4th inning.

Its great to be consistent from game to game in the enforcemnet of rules but sometimes you just have to umpire. Did about 28 Var. games ths year and maybe half were decent baseball. To try to enforce time penalties consistently would be next to impossible.