The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2015, 11:17am
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Ruling?

Hit and run is on from our opponent. We are on defense. Hitter hits a fly ball to center field. Can my middle infield decoy the runner by faking a double play turn to try to get the runner to slide into second base?
I know a fake TAG is not legal, but how about this?

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2015, 12:10pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
Can your fielder do this? Sure. But if he does, and it changes how F1 touches second base, it's obstruction.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NFHS 2-22-1, emphasis mine
ART. 1 . . . Obstruction is an act (intentional or unintentional, as well as physical or verbal) by a fielder, any member of the defensive team or its team personnel that hinders a runner or changes the pattern of play as in 5-1-3 and 8-3-2; or when a catcher or fielder hinders a batter as in 5-1-2b, 8-1-1e, 8-3-1c and 8-3-2. When obstruction occurs, the ball becomes dead at the end of playing action and the umpire has authority to determine which base or bases shall be awarded the runners according to the rule violated (Exceptions 8-4-2c, 8-4-2d).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2015, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
Can your fielder do this? Sure. But if he does, and it changes how F1 touches second base, it's obstruction.
No, it's not. Decoys are legal.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2015, 08:56am
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
Got any rules basis to back up your assertion?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2015, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
Got any rules basis to back up your assertion?
He does not... because there aren't any.

This can be obstruction, if it alters the runner's path.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2015, 11:13am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,790
If F4 decoys catching a ground ball, that's nothing.

If F6 comes across the bag in a decoy and forces R1 to slide, I'm likely calling obstruction.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your ruling? Niner Football 6 Tue Jul 08, 2008 02:35pm
What's your ruling? Bob M. Football 24 Tue Jul 08, 2008 02:29pm
NSA Ruling? Bandit Softball 44 Sat Jan 12, 2008 09:42am
Ruling LongIslandZebra Baseball 6 Thu Nov 03, 2005 09:25am
help with ruling joelevmas Baseball 4 Sun Jun 27, 2004 11:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1