The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 15, 2003, 12:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
A very legitimate question, David, especially after reviewing this Fed caseplay:
    8.1.2 SITUATION: With R1 on first, B2 hits on the ground between first and second. R1 is hit by the batted ball, or he hinders F4 in his throw to first.

    Ruling: R1 is out and ball becomes dead when the interference occurs. If the interference clearly prevented B2 from being put out at first, he also is out.

While the umpire certainly has the right to call out B1 in your scenario, I think most would base their judgment on whether a DP was a possible outcome of the ground ball had the play been absent of the interference. While that may not be exactly per the rule, I believe that is how most that I have seen apply their judgment.


Just my opinion,

Freix

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1