The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 15, 2003, 02:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
OBR 7.05h Approved ruling. "If [a] pitched . . . ball goes through or by the catcher . . . and remains on the playing field, and is subsequently kicked into [DBT], the awarding shall be two bases from position of the runners at the time of the pitch. . . ." Notice that "is kicked" doesn't limit the kick to the fielder.

PBUC 3.8 says the same thing in more detail.

J/R 8-B: A subsequent push of a pitch or in-contact throw occurs when such pitch or throw is errant, but would have remained on the playing field, and a fielder subsequently pushes (kicks, deflects, etc.) the ball (itself) into DBT or the ball becomes lodged due to push or deflection. Each runner is awarded two bases beyond his TOP base.

J/R goes on to stipulate that the push must be unintentional. I am aware that this does say the fielder kicked the ball.

Both PBUC and J/R give many examples.

I'm sure it's somewhere in the BRD, too.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1