![]() |
|
|||
John,
I did. I specifically addressed his question in post #4 though. Backread and you will see that he asks a very specific question about squaring and then taking the bat back for a full swing while the catcher slides up. You will see that I have not confused the issue and am only responding to his request for a decision on that matter. Enjoying this great summer weather? (I'm gald I moved back from paradise for the most snow in Chicago in years, the rainiest Spring in years and now the coldest start to June in half a century. Uggghhh. |
|
|||
![]()
Mike,
Read it again. He specifically asked about a batter pulling his bat back from a bunt because he decided not to offer. If he "showed bunt" and then went to cock his bat to offer with a swing, I would agree that was CI. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
As stated in post #5, he has CI or OBS, whatever you want to call it. The takeaway is part of the swing - the batter is being distracted from his opportunity to then take a full swing at the pitch. The catcher cannot impede it in any way or risk being called for the infraction. J/R substantiates this.
This specific action was also discussed at the Chicago NCAA meetings in January. Prior to the pitch, contact between the bat and catcher's mitt are to be dealt with as, "Time! Reset." On a pitch, you have CI. The catcher must avoid contacting the bat, not the batter must avoid contacting the mitt. The onus is on the defense. Last edited by MikeStrybel; Fri Jun 10, 2011 at 05:13pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
(Granted, at the MLB or even NCAA level - the speeds are such that the difference is greater - pulling back doesn't give time to swing... but at HS or youth ball, the difference is going to be much harder to determine.)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
As Josh clearly stated in Post #4 - the post to which you were replying - the batter had abandoned his effort to hit the ball. By your logic, you would award the batter in the video clip 1B. I don't believe that's a correct call. Quote:
It's pretty easy to determine in the video that the batter has no intention of offering at the pitch. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
In response to the video clip, we see a ball that is no longer in fair territory, it has passed the plate and is in the catcher's mitt when contact with the batt is made. The batter has lost his opportunity to swing at or bunt such pitch. Look at J/R and see how this is handled. Now, look at 14-2 (5) in J/R on page 117. It is not catcher's interference if the batter has completely given up his opportunity to swing at a pitch. So, if he squares and then quickly pulls back but the catcher clips his bat on the takeaway, you have...yes, CI. |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Quote:
So, it would appear we are largely in "violent agreement". The only question is what you would rule in the first case - when the batter HAS completely given up his opportunity and the bat and mitt come into contact as the batter pulls his bat back - like in the video. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
I did not.
|
|
|||
Quote:
This is frivolous discussion. None of us have access to slo mo from another angle, before making a call. |
|
|||
![]()
DG,
I was not discussing whether or not the umpire got the call right. I concur that is a pointless endeavor. The question I was trying to explore is what would be the correct call if the ball had NOT hit the bat? BI? CI? "Weak interference"? Something else? What's the call and why? Just like the video, only the ball doesn't hit the bat. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
A batter must intentionally contact a catcher or his equipment for it to be batter's interference while he is pulling the bat back J/R page 117 14-2-3 IT IS NOT A BACKSWING. J/R defines the backswing is the follow through motion on a swing that goes all the way around the batter's body until it is on the vicinity of the catcher. This does not happen as he is pulling the bat back from an aborted bunt attempt. Call the pitch. If you judge that he deliberately pulled his bat back in a way that impeded the catcher and caused disruption of the play on the runner, you have interference on the batter. My son's game was played in the lovely drizzle today. It is really hard to wear a coach's hat some days. When is Summer going to be here? Uggghh. Last edited by MikeStrybel; Sat Jun 11, 2011 at 05:47pm. |
|
|||
J/R states differently. See page 96 of the current edition.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Bunt Attempt | harmbu | Baseball | 26 | Thu Oct 07, 2010 04:52pm |
BR interference with catcher fielding bunt | reccer | Softball | 32 | Sun Jul 08, 2007 02:45am |
Bunt attempt turns into HBP | SAump | Baseball | 24 | Sat Apr 14, 2007 06:59pm |
Bunt attempt? | greymule | Softball | 6 | Mon Mar 12, 2007 01:47pm |
Bunt attempt....strike? | just another ref | Baseball | 14 | Mon May 15, 2006 01:58pm |