![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
(Granted, at the MLB or even NCAA level - the speeds are such that the difference is greater - pulling back doesn't give time to swing... but at HS or youth ball, the difference is going to be much harder to determine.)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
As Josh clearly stated in Post #4 - the post to which you were replying - the batter had abandoned his effort to hit the ball. By your logic, you would award the batter in the video clip 1B. I don't believe that's a correct call. Quote:
It's pretty easy to determine in the video that the batter has no intention of offering at the pitch. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In response to the video clip, we see a ball that is no longer in fair territory, it has passed the plate and is in the catcher's mitt when contact with the batt is made. The batter has lost his opportunity to swing at or bunt such pitch. Look at J/R and see how this is handled. Now, look at 14-2 (5) in J/R on page 117. It is not catcher's interference if the batter has completely given up his opportunity to swing at a pitch. So, if he squares and then quickly pulls back but the catcher clips his bat on the takeaway, you have...yes, CI. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
So, it would appear we are largely in "violent agreement". The only question is what you would rule in the first case - when the batter HAS completely given up his opportunity and the bat and mitt come into contact as the batter pulls his bat back - like in the video. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A batter must intentionally contact a catcher or his equipment for it to be batter's interference while he is pulling the bat back J/R page 117 14-2-3 IT IS NOT A BACKSWING. J/R defines the backswing is the follow through motion on a swing that goes all the way around the batter's body until it is on the vicinity of the catcher. This does not happen as he is pulling the bat back from an aborted bunt attempt. Call the pitch. If you judge that he deliberately pulled his bat back in a way that impeded the catcher and caused disruption of the play on the runner, you have interference on the batter. My son's game was played in the lovely drizzle today. It is really hard to wear a coach's hat some days. When is Summer going to be here? Uggghh. Last edited by MikeStrybel; Sat Jun 11, 2011 at 05:47pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Bunt Attempt | harmbu | Baseball | 26 | Thu Oct 07, 2010 04:52pm |
| BR interference with catcher fielding bunt | reccer | Softball | 32 | Sun Jul 08, 2007 02:45am |
| Bunt attempt turns into HBP | SAump | Baseball | 24 | Sat Apr 14, 2007 06:59pm |
| Bunt attempt? | greymule | Softball | 6 | Mon Mar 12, 2007 01:47pm |
| Bunt attempt....strike? | just another ref | Baseball | 14 | Mon May 15, 2006 01:58pm |