![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
By the rules, I don't have to. But, I agree sometimes you just have to umpire
|
|
|||
![]() Even if they appeal it? That doesn't qualify as a gross miss to you?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
Quote:
8-2-6l -Last Time By. "If a runner correctly touches a base that was missed either in advancing or returning, the last time he was by the base, that last touch corrects any previous baserunning infraction." He didn't miss 3b nor did he go by or have to go by 3b. You have to use your imagination here because, you just aint going to see it happen. EVER |
|
|||
|
Jiccone - I believe you are wrong on this. Regardless of whether or not he NEEDED to go back, he DID, so he must retouch 3rd.
If he didn't need to go back, but did, and simply stepped over 3rd and then ran home, according to you he could run right home. Does that seem right to you? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
So if he didn't miss 3b in advancing, there was "no previous baserunning infraction" (8-2-6l) that needed to be corrected. Now the question is what constitutes going back to second and at what point does the application of LTB then get enforced or when is it applicable again. I say that the determination is not defined until he touches second again because "theoritically" he has no defined path by rule until played upon. He is free to run. If you believe I am wrong, thats fine. Just show me by reference where and why? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Your interp makes the "last time by" provision of the baserunning rules completely unnecessary: once a runner touches the base, he can go wherever he wants. For a FED citation, look at the new case concerning "last time by," 8.2.6H.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I've asked several umpires I trust with rules and, like here, we all agree if he "passes" 3rd in his retreat he must retouch. Mbcrowder's answer I think makes the most technical sense. If he crosses a line drawn between 1st and 3rd (through the diagonal of the bases), he probably has "passed" 3rd. As for a reference you asked for, the last time by reference is enough. Because if he passed 3rd on his retreat to 2nd, then he would have to "pass" it again to go home, no? And so if he doesn't touch it on that last pass, he's subject to be out on appeal. For some reason which you haven't quite untangled, you do not think he has "passed" the base on a retreat because of his purpose for retreat or result of the play. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Are officials allowed to "guess" the amount of time to put on the clock? | All_Heart | Basketball | 1 | Mon Nov 30, 2009 09:30am |
| ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight | pizanno | Basketball | 27 | Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am |
| Its about time for ASA to drop the "both feet" on rubber requirement | wadeintothem | Softball | 39 | Tue Jun 05, 2007 06:28am |