The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2011, 01:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 253
Pitcher going to his mouth

Fed. Bases loaded, 2 outs. Pitcher in windup position. While on the rubber goes to his mouth, then wipes it off. Balk or no?

Case book 6.1.3 sit O has a balk in a similar situation but the interp is because he is to go directly to a set position.

Rule book 6-2-1-e has balk only if he does not wipe it off. No reference given to on the rubber or off.

Case book 6.2.1.a Has a ball on the batter if he is on the rubber.

Still I can find no cite in the rule book with a difference between on the rubber or off. Trying to settle a debate. Fellow official is on the side that it nothing because he is the windup. I am saying I have a balk. 6.2.1.a seems to back me up but I'm not afraid to be wrong and learn something new today!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Going to Mouth FED njdevs00cup Baseball 14 Mon Mar 30, 2009 09:54pm
FED Going to Mouth Lapopez Baseball 34 Tue Mar 11, 2008 12:51pm
Pitcher Goes to Mouth in the 18' circle dnorthen Baseball 8 Mon Apr 23, 2007 07:24pm
pitcher goes to his mouth without wiping it off coachnatte Baseball 5 Thu Jun 05, 2003 02:01pm
Pitcher goes to his mouth on plate...fed. ruling vs major league Vegaschuck Baseball 1 Tue Jul 24, 2001 02:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1