![]() |
|
|
|||
So R1 gets to keep second if F2's throw retires R2, and the interference is ignored (since R1 is tagged out, and B1 struck out)?
|
|
|||
![]()
Suudy,
That is correct. If the F2's initial attempt to retire a runner is successful despite the interference, the interference is disregarded and the play stands. (Regardless of whether or not the batter struck out.) JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
For example, no outs, 1-2 count, B1 swings and misses, but F2 drops the ball. B1 pushes F2 and starts to run toward first. R2 takes off for third. F2 recovers and throws 1) to first in time to put out the batter-runner, 2) to first and over the head of F3, 3) to third in time to tag R1, 4) to third but not in time to tag R1. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
![]()
suudy,
When the batter becomes a runner on the pitch, he is no longer a batter but a batter-runner. That might seem like a trivial distinction, but it's actually important. Since he is no longer a batter, he is no longer constrained by the batter interference rules. So, yes, it matters quite a bit. Now, if the batter were to push the F2 (which to me implies intent), he's out on runner interference, I'm killing the play immediately, and it is certainly conceivable that I would call the runner out as well (due to his teammate's interference) if I felt a double play was likely or possible. Conversely, if the BR just took off for 1B and the F2 just went after the loose ball and inadvertently "bumped" one another, then I've got "nothing" (a tangle/untangle in umpire parlance). If the F2 gets the ball and airmails it over the F3's head, and the runner is short of or within the running lane, I've still got nothing. If he's past halfway and outside the running lane (and in the "flight path" of the throw), I've likely got the BR out on runner's lane interference. The ball is immediately dead and runner's return to their TOP (OBR) or TOI (FED) base. (Likely the same place in this sitch.) JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
What would you do in that situation? Where F2 made the mistake of throwing to first, an already occupied base at TOP on the dropped third strike with less than two outs and we have interferrence on the B/R? Like I said, F2 was not trying to throw to second to get R1, he was throwing to first. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
mbyron, thats just it. I am sure F2 was throwing to first to retire B/R, however B/R was already out as first base was occupied at TOP. If F2 was throwing to second then I know I can get R1 out regardless if thrown out or not on the interferrence.
Would you reward the defense on this play and get the out at second even if the defense did not actually earn it because they threw to the wrong base? F2 should have known the situation: first base occupied at TOP with less than two outs means B/R cannot advance to first base on a dropped third strike. R1 can steal second all he wants which means F2 should throw to second to retire R1, not to first to get B/R. Would you leave R1 at second because F2 screwed up and threw to the wrong base or would you simply send R1 back to first? Last edited by BK47; Sat Mar 26, 2011 at 08:36am. Reason: changed to read "sendR1 back to first" instead of "send R1 back to second" on my typo. |
|
|||
Yes. IF the throw retires the runner, there really wasn't any interference.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|