The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 22, 2011, 07:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 78
As I posted in another thread:

For type B obstruction, the PBUC manual states that if "a play on a previously obstructed runner results in that runner actually being tagged out before reaching the base to which he would have been awarded because of the obstruction, the umpire in that case shall call "Time" at the moment the runner is tagged out."

I realize this is the OBR mechanic but IMO the FED mechanic leaves us holding the dirty end of the stick. As UmpTTS43 said in his post, the DC coach will argue his team did not attempt a play at the plate because they thought there was three outs.

I do not understand the reasoning behind the FED rule difference. If the FED would only stick to safety related issues we would all be the better for it.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I called it dead. Chess Ref Softball 15 Wed May 10, 2006 04:01pm
Foul or Dead alwaysask Softball 7 Thu May 15, 2003 02:29pm
Dead Ball...??? bake17 Baseball 4 Thu Apr 24, 2003 02:10pm
Dead Ball victoria_mom Softball 9 Sat Mar 22, 2003 02:47pm
What was once dead... Dakota Softball 1 Mon Apr 09, 2001 04:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1