The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 29, 2010, 10:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
7.09(e) covers it nicely, IMO.

They added "runner who has scored" to this rule in the past few years. Did the scoring runner impede the defense? Well, I would say so, yes. Without Rodriguez grabbing Morgan and shoving him back towards the plate, Morgan doesn't retouch and there's a possibility of an appeal.

As far as the collision goes, that's a big fat nothing.
I thought so also, then talked myself out of it. I didn't see what Rodriguez did as impeding the defense. Of course I'm being narrow in my definition of impede, relative to 7.09(e). But that has to be what Hernandez applied because 7.09(h) is the "wrong fit."

Agree on the collision part.
FWIW: Ringlemann did call both LaRussa and Anderson and apologized for Morgan's actions. Told them it was being handled with Morgan internally.
LaRussa said he was fine with it after talking to Ringelmann.
(Reported on the Nats MLB.com site.)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1