The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 173
In looking at this play, I think a case could be made for the batter not making a reasonable attempt to get out of the way of the pitch. I'm curious if the replay umpire could have overruled that if that was the opinion of the home plate umpire.
__________________
I'm due to make a great call. After all, I've been officiating a long time !!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 11:51am
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
"...despite an honest effort by a good man to help correct an obvious wrong."

It wasn't obvious to the entire umpiring crew on the field. Obviously.

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,081
If the informed the coaches before the game they were using reply there sure didn't seem that way from the looks on the white teams coaches.
__________________
Every game is a big game
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodwillRef View Post
If the informed the coaches before the game they were using reply there sure didn't seem that way from the looks on the white teams coaches.
Any good coach would have protested this on the spot.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 01:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by REFANDUMP View Post
In looking at this play, I think a case could be made for the batter not making a reasonable attempt to get out of the way of the pitch. I'm curious if the replay umpire could have overruled that if that was the opinion of the home plate umpire.
Not even close.
1) The pitch was in the batter's box, where it dosen't belong. Bater's box belongs to the batter,
2) Watch the video again (Part 1), as the pitch comes in the batter starts to lower his stance (watch his knees) as he can see it's going to be a low pitch
and that if he's going to swing at it he's going to have to "go down and get it."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
Not even close.
1) The pitch was in the batter's box, where it dosen't belong. Bater's box belongs to the batter,
2) Watch the video again (Part 1), as the pitch comes in the batter starts to lower his stance (watch his knees) as he can see it's going to be a low pitch
and that if he's going to swing at it he's going to have to "go down and get it."
The batter could have made some attempt...it is a curve ball and it looks like he is a smart batter and lets it hit him...it is a 1-0 game.
__________________
Every game is a big game
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 01:48pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
How old are these kids again?

I highly doubt the batter knew it was going to hit the top of his shoe. Let's be serious here. The thing on his mind was probably what kind of pizza he was going to have after the game (not that there's anything wrong with thinking about that at 12 or however old these kids are)
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 21, 2010, 01:34am
ODJ ODJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 390
The LL Rep was in the squirrel costume, who was the other guy?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodwillRef View Post
The batter could have made some attempt...it is a curve ball and it looks like he is a smart batter and lets it hit him...it is a 1-0 game.
Actually it was one of doz dere political conspiracies. The Taliban are trying to take over LL players and then do one of does mind changing experiments on dem. This year baseball, next year bomb carrying terrorist..

Get the LL officials to change their call and next thing you know they will be running for President and building religious sites on existing LL fields and then wanting to take over Babe Ruth and Pony baseball.

Got some land in Florida for sale, interested?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 02:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
Not even close.
1) The pitch was in the batter's box, where it dosen't belong. Bater's box belongs to the batter,
2) Watch the video again (Part 1), as the pitch comes in the batter starts to lower his stance (watch his knees) as he can see it's going to be a low pitch
and that if he's going to swing at it he's going to have to "go down and get it."
I disagree. Being in the batters box does not eliminate the requirement for a batter to make a reasonable attempt to get out of the way of the pitch as I understand the rule. I'm not claiming that I would have made that ruling, but I do think a legitimate case could be made for making such a call. I will always give the batter the benefit of the doubt if they turn, lean, etc. but I don't feel that this batter necessarily did any of these actions.
__________________
I'm due to make a great call. After all, I've been officiating a long time !!!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
The pitch was down in the dirt.
His "move" was he started to lower his stance to go down to get the pitch...his initial instinct was to hit the ball.
This sitch was not an example of a batter not making a reasonable effort to aviod a HBP.
As bad as a cluster flub this sitch was 4 umps, 2 of them what...75 ft. away and they can't see an HBP, and then the ensuing "oh let's go to the video replay" by the meddling, all knowing, lets inject ourselves into the umpiring of the game, LLBB Eastern Region administrative and UIC staff, all you have is a missed call. Going with the other call you have a bad application of a rule.

Last edited by KJUmp; Wed Aug 18, 2010 at 03:13pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 03:01pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
using Papa C's words, only Smitty calls the hitter back for not moving on that pitch...$hitty end of the stick there fellas. No way, no how, (assuming you have a hit by pitch) do you keep the batter batting on that pitch.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
The umpire told him that he just wanted to get the call correct.

There was the root of the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by REFANDUMP View Post
I disagree. Being in the batters box does not eliminate the requirement for a batter to make a reasonable attempt to get out of the way of the pitch as I understand the rule. I'm not claiming that I would have made that ruling, but I do think a legitimate case could be made for making such a call. I will always give the batter the benefit of the doubt if they turn, lean, etc. but I don't feel that this batter necessarily did any of these actions.
I can't believe you really have been doing this for a long time.

The umpire (the guy behind the catcher, not the replay official) didn't even see the ball hit the player, let alone, hit him on purpose.

Do you also brush off the bases?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
I can't believe you really have been doing this for a long time.

The umpire (the guy behind the catcher, not the replay official) didn't even see the ball hit the player, let alone, hit him on purpose.

Do you also brush off the bases?
WHAT DID I SAY THAT DESERVED THIS SMART A** RESPONSE FROM YOU !!! I stated that I PROBABLY WOULD NOT HAVE MADE THIS CALL however am I incorrect in saying that a batter must make a reasonable attempt to avoid being hit by a pitch ???

F.Y.I. ... I have been umpiring a long time (over 30 years to be exact). I think I have some clue about the game !!!
__________________
I'm due to make a great call. After all, I've been officiating a long time !!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecticut LLWS Pitcher, New England Regional Final TwoBits Baseball 6 Mon Aug 16, 2010 08:10am
Only in England ukumpire Softball 21 Thu Jun 28, 2007 03:41pm
New England at Jacksonville Mark Dexter Football 11 Fri Jan 05, 2007 02:45pm
Camps in the New England Jay R Basketball 11 Sun Apr 02, 2006 07:12pm
England & Ireland ukumpire Softball 0 Thu Sep 08, 2005 12:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1