The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 18, 2010, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Has it dawned on anyone that the OD batter didn't interfere - he assisted?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 18, 2010, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Has it dawned on anyone that the OD batter didn't interfere - he assisted?
Your comments are usually much more rules-based than that.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 18, 2010, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Your comments are usually much more rules-based than that.
OK then - did he interfere with the defense's ability to make a play (against the rules) or enhance their ability to make a play (assist - not covered)?

If assistance, should you let the play stand and leave the punishment up to his coach and team mates? (I'd vote for this.)
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 18, 2010, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
OK then - did he interfere with the defense's ability to make a play (against the rules) or enhance their ability to make a play (assist - not covered)?

If assistance, should you let the play stand and leave the punishment up to his coach and team mates? (I'd vote for this.)
The OD batter picked up a ball still in play. No assistance there.

I wouldn't defer my responsibilities to a coach and team mates.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 18, 2010, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUmpire View Post
The OD batter picked up a ball still in play. No assistance there.

.
He threw it to the pitcher. He gave it to the defense instead of making them come get it.

And that's not assistance?

What world do you live on?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 18, 2010, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
He threw it to the pitcher. He gave it to the defense instead of making them come get it.

And that's not assistance?

What world do you live on?
The world in which offensive players do not handle balls still in play. Obviously you are a stranger here.

At the time if his first "handling" (time of interference) no one knew what he was going to do, except perhaps the Amazing Kreskin and you, the Incredible Ives. Most of the rest of us are umpires.

Last edited by MrUmpire; Sun Jul 18, 2010 at 12:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 18, 2010, 02:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUmpire View Post
The world in which offensive players do not handle balls still in play. Obviously you are a stranger here.

At the time if his first "handling" (time of interference) no one knew what he was going to do, except perhaps the Amazing Kreskin and you, the Incredible Ives. Most of the rest of us are umpires.
You have to have a play to have interference. The catcher wasn't even close. ODB made it easier.

Or is the interference rule different in your world,
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 20, 2010, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
He threw it to the pitcher. He gave it to the defense instead of making them come get it.

And that's not assistance?

What world do you live on?
Really? He didn't throw anything to anyone. The instant he possessed it, play was dead. Period. Everything that happened after that didn't happen. (If you're going to go with "assistance" - which doesn't exist by the way --- then would you allow pitcher to then throw to a base and retire a runner? No ... of course not. Play was dead. This mysterious "assistance" didn't happen.)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 20, 2010, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Really? He didn't throw anything to anyone. The instant he possessed it, play was dead. Period. Everything that happened after that didn't happen. (If you're going to go with "assistance" - which doesn't exist by the way --- then would you allow pitcher to then throw to a base and retire a runner? No ... of course not. Play was dead. This mysterious "assistance" didn't happen.)
Good luck. May you succeed where other's have failed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
On Deck Batter RKBUmp Softball 32 Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:36am
On-deck batter Hoosier_Dave Softball 5 Mon Jun 19, 2006 02:10pm
On Deck Batter DownTownTonyBrown Baseball 4 Mon May 05, 2003 06:42pm
On Deck Batter Blue316 Baseball 4 Mon Jun 24, 2002 10:04am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1