![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
It is. Immediate dead ball; all runners return to TOP base.
|
|
|||
|
The retreating thing got called in the WCWS super-regionals. Not being familiar enough with SB rules all I could think was WTF?
After thinking about it on and off for weeks I still think WTF.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
No idea on the reasoning. My dad actually asked about the play, and asked if baseball had a similar rule.
|
|
|||
|
I agree - that rule is not consistent with other rules in ASA. I can understand why they want to call BR out (I don't agree... but I understand) - but it should merely be an out for running out of the basepath (pretend the line from BR to the plate - not an actual base in this order - doesn't exist, I guess) - not interference and all runners return.
The reason I don't agree with the rule, even though I understand it, is that it is also not consistent with other rules. You wouldn't call R1 on 3rd out for retreating to 3rd to avoid a tag, even if R1 was forced. Why is BR different?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| OT- speaking of jump stops | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 5 | Thu Apr 22, 2010 03:46pm |
| Street Stops Here documentary | fullor30 | Basketball | 1 | Thu Apr 01, 2010 06:51am |
| Once the runner stops at a base for any reason | Dakota | Softball | 6 | Sun Feb 22, 2009 01:07pm |
| Timer stops clock | lukealex | Basketball | 1 | Mon Sep 26, 2005 04:09pm |
| Partner Stops a Coach | rainmaker | Basketball | 5 | Tue Jun 18, 2002 02:07pm |