The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 04, 2010, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,458
It would probably have to be an appeal play by the defense, that he missed the plate. Is there such a thing as a fourth world play?

Can you imagine that happening in an MLB game? First, the gall to be so selfish to get the cycle, and not have your team get another run. You KNOW the next guy up, if it's not a close game, is going to wear one.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 04, 2010, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I once saw Hector Lopez hit a walk-off "ground rule" double. He touched 1B and went directly to the dugout. He was credited with a single.

I met him once many years later and forgot to ask him whether he remembered it.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 04, 2010, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule View Post
I once saw Hector Lopez hit a walk-off "ground rule" double. He touched 1B and went directly to the dugout. He was credited with a single.

I met him once many years later and forgot to ask him whether he remembered it.
He probably only would have been credited with a single anyhow:

10.06

(f) Subject to the provisions of Rule 10.06(g), when a batter ends a game with a safe hit that drives in as many runs as are necessary to put his team in the lead, the official scorer shall credit such batter with only as many bases on his hit as are advanced by the runner who scores the winning run, and then only if the batter runs out his hit for as many bases as are advanced by the runner who scores the winning run.

Rule 10.06(f) Comment: The official scorer shall apply this rule even when the batter is theoretically entitled to more bases because of being awarded an “automatic” extra-base hit under various provisions of Rules 6.09 and 7.05.

The official scorer shall credit the batter with a base touched in the natural course of play, even if the winning run has scored moments before on the same play. For example, the score is tied in the bottom of the ninth inning with a runner on second base and the batter hits a ball to the outfield that falls for a base hit. The runner scores after the batter has touched first base and continued on to second base but shortly before the batter-runner reaches second base. If the batter-runner reaches second base, the official scorer shall credit the batter with a two-base hit.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 04, 2010, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Yes, just as you count no more than the winning run if a throw goes into DBT. I should have mentioned that on Lopez's hit, the winning run scored from 2B, so Hector did cost himself a double.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is awarded base mandatory? hawk65 Softball 2 Tue May 01, 2007 01:10pm
Base Awards illiniwek8 Baseball 2 Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:06pm
Base Awards blueskysblue Softball 3 Sat Jun 26, 2004 12:29pm
Base Awards harmbu Baseball 6 Fri Apr 30, 2004 10:25am
Base Awards? cmcallm Baseball 18 Thu Oct 05, 2000 08:09am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1