![]() |
|
|||
|
The OBR Ruling:
MLBUM 6.9 BACKSWING (FOLLOW-THROUGH) HITS CATCHER If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and in the umpire's judgment unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of the batter on the follow-through or backswing while the batter is still in the batter's box, it shall be called a strike only (no interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play. If this infraction should occur in a situation where the catcher's initial throw directly retires a runner despite the infraction, the play stands the same as if no violation had occurred. If this infraction should occur in a situation where the batter would normally become a runner because of a third strike not caught, the ball shall be dead and the batter declared out. This interpretation applies even if the catcher is in the act of making a throw to retire a runner. That is, if the batter is in the batter's box and his normal backswing or follow-through unintentionally strikes the catcher or the ball while the catcher is in the act of throwing, "Time" is called and runners return (unless the catcher's initial throw retires the runner).
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Backswing (follow through) Interference | ctblu40 | Baseball | 26 | Thu Jun 14, 2007 05:21pm |
| backswing hits catcher | ggk | Baseball | 3 | Tue Jul 04, 2006 08:51am |
| Backswing and Legal Delivery - ASA | mcrowder | Softball | 4 | Thu Apr 13, 2006 02:06pm |
| Delayed Swing on Steal Attempt | Spence | Baseball | 3 | Fri Apr 29, 2005 03:05pm |
| Catcher's Obstruction on backswing | Bluefoot | Softball | 2 | Sun Jun 13, 2004 10:33am |