![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Interesting. When I saw it I thought "why is the runner not out"? Well, FED rule is that if batter interferes after a 3rd strike runner may be ruled out if, in umpire judgement, interference prevents the 2nd out (DP as they call it). That would be a hard sell in my view, and not the case in OBR, just return runner.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
Have not looked up yet, but if so the Case Plays are removing umpire judgement, from the RULE. Not unprecedented for FED, I don't suppose. Still a hard sell, since very few Coaches know anything about the case book.
|
|
|||
|
I agree completely. My rating will go in the toilet for that game if I ever have to make the call. I saw the case play citations in J/R, then double checked the case book and there's not a lot of room for judgment in the FED interps on this play.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Cases 7.3.5C and 8.4.2L are more on-point. And, fwiw, umpires who start with FED and then move to OBR are just as mystified by the difference. They don't understand why a batter wouldn't be responsible for his follow-through and why the offense isn't penalized for the action. (Batter swings and falls over the plate -- get the second out; batter swings and contacts the catcher with the follow through -- return the runner. Why the difference?) I've made the call 1/2 dozen or so times. Sometimes returning the runner, sometimes getting the second out. Never more than a brief discussion / explanation to the coach. |
|
|||
|
The OBR Ruling:
MLBUM 6.9 BACKSWING (FOLLOW-THROUGH) HITS CATCHER If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and in the umpire's judgment unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of the batter on the follow-through or backswing while the batter is still in the batter's box, it shall be called a strike only (no interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play. If this infraction should occur in a situation where the catcher's initial throw directly retires a runner despite the infraction, the play stands the same as if no violation had occurred. If this infraction should occur in a situation where the batter would normally become a runner because of a third strike not caught, the ball shall be dead and the batter declared out. This interpretation applies even if the catcher is in the act of making a throw to retire a runner. That is, if the batter is in the batter's box and his normal backswing or follow-through unintentionally strikes the catcher or the ball while the catcher is in the act of throwing, "Time" is called and runners return (unless the catcher's initial throw retires the runner).
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Quote:
FED is just a different animal altogether with it's rule set.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me? |
|
|||
|
But *why* are they considered different things? They both are interference, and interference with a play. So, why the different treatment?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Some things just are. In this case it's probably due to having the bat hit the catcher because the catcher stepped into its path. Catchers (once trained), with a runner going, tend to jump into throwing position as the pitch is arriving - so it's partly his fault. That's my story and I'm sticking to it.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
No runners, batter swings at strike 3 and his backswing makes contact with catchers glove and ball pops out. Dead ball. I don't know but I expect the scorer would give the pitcher a K and batter definitely out for BI. One of the two case plays was just that, the other had runners and they returned to their bases on the dead ball.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
How can you have a strikeout and batters interference? When the batter is out on strikes, he immediately becomes a batter-runner.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me? |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Backswing (follow through) Interference | ctblu40 | Baseball | 26 | Thu Jun 14, 2007 05:21pm |
| backswing hits catcher | ggk | Baseball | 3 | Tue Jul 04, 2006 08:51am |
| Backswing and Legal Delivery - ASA | mcrowder | Softball | 4 | Thu Apr 13, 2006 02:06pm |
| Delayed Swing on Steal Attempt | Spence | Baseball | 3 | Fri Apr 29, 2005 03:05pm |
| Catcher's Obstruction on backswing | Bluefoot | Softball | 2 | Sun Jun 13, 2004 10:33am |