The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Pitching from the stretch (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/58178-pitching-stretch.html)

ozzy6900 Sun May 23, 2010 10:56am

I agree with the balk call here. Once F1 brings his hands together and stops, he is set. If he stares in for the sign, then moves his hands closer to his body, we have a double set.

However, if F1 brings his hands together as in the OP and then leans in for the sign, you must call the balk right then and there. F1 has come set, then made movement that was not delivering the pitch or attempting to make a play. In this case, do not allow F1 to go any farther without balking him.

MrUmpire Sun May 23, 2010 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900 (Post 678130)
I agree with the balk call here. Once F1 brings his hands together and stops, he is set. If he stares in for the sign, then moves his hands closer to his body, we have a double set.

However, if F1 brings his hands together as in the OP and then leans in for the sign, you must call the balk right then and there. F1 has come set, then made movement that was not delivering the pitch or attempting to make a play. In this case, do not allow F1 to go any farther without balking him.

Ozzy, there is no separate balk rule about a "double set." Both of your examples are enforced under the same rule..8.05(a) and in the pro circles are known as "started and stopped".

jicecone Sun May 23, 2010 11:57am

I have many times seen a pitcher put his hands together in front of him with the pivot foot on the plate and the non-pivot foot stretched out about shoulder width. He takes his signs and then sets by bringing his hands to his body and feet together. I am suspecting this is what is happening. If the poster would clarify, maybe we could end this discussion in 3 threads.

Not having been there I am assuming this is what happened.

Jay R Sun May 23, 2010 05:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 678140)
I have many times seen a pitcher put his hands together in front of him with the pivot foot on the plate and the non-pivot foot stretched out about shoulder width. He takes his signs and then sets by bringing his hands to his body and feet together. I am suspecting this is what is happening. If the poster would clarify, maybe we could end this discussion in 3 threads.

Not having been there I am assuming this is what happened.

/That's what the pitcher was doing. I thought I had clarified.

bob jenkins Sun May 23, 2010 06:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 678180)
/That's what the pitcher was doing. I thought I had clarified.

It's a balk.

jicecone Sun May 23, 2010 09:23pm

Don't agree Bob but, thats ok.

MrUmpire Sun May 23, 2010 09:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 678208)
Don't agree Bob but, thats ok.

You do understand that it's the hands coming together that "establishes" the set, right? So the pitcher has come set. He then starts, then stops. Read OBR 8.05 (a)

It would be hard to find a better example.

mbyron Mon May 24, 2010 07:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 678208)
Don't agree Bob but, thats ok.

jicecone, in baseball there's much room for intelligent people to disagree. This play allows no such room. Black-letter rule balk.

jicecone Mon May 24, 2010 10:40am

Dah me. After re-reading I am throughly convinced that the only one wrong here was me.

Sorry guys.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1