![]() |
Pitching from the stretch
Question; OBR. Can a pitcher from the stretch have both hands together while taking the sign? Pitcher tonight was taking his sign with his hands together then bringing his hands closer to his body and pausing. Is this legal?
|
No he cannot. This is considered a set position. During the stretch, his pitching hand must be at his side or behind him.
|
Quote:
Why would it be illegal to take the sign after the pitcher's hands come together? I can see a balk for a pause in motion, but that's about it. |
As described it is a balk for starting and stopping.
Once the hands are together and the pitcher stops moving/pauses, the pitcher is considered set. Any movement after that point must be a pitch (excluding such things as a throw to first). The OP described a pitcher getting set, then moving to re-set, that would be a balk for the re-set or start and stop, however you would like to describe it. There is nothing preventing a pitcher from getting set and then taking their sign. However it doesn't sound smart because any obvious adjustment at that point would be a balk. And it would take nerves of steal not to move for such a long time after taking each sign. Jasper |
Quote:
|
Mental pause
Quote:
|
Quote:
"The pitcher following his stretch MUST........b. come to a complete stop." I don't have a balk here, as long as that pause is really a complete stop. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
See that a lot in young players, no one has taught them the separate their hands. Thanks David |
Quote:
|
Exactly the point
Quote:
He starts with his hands together implies he balked when he stepped on the rubber. Don't do that. Now if he brings his hands together legally, ala starting with his hands together, while taking the sign and continues to the set position. Is it a balk? He may come to a complete stop, take the sign and then proceed with the delivery. He doesn't have to take the signs at all. Who is he deceiving by a small delay in his pitching motion? Let his pitching coach make that decision. |
Quote:
|
Double set = balk. If he is on the rubber, with hands together and completely stopped he is set. If he then moves hands and stops again he has double set. It is irrelevant when he got the sign. The balk is the double set.
|
Quote:
We are not required to determine if anyone was deceived, only to enforce the balk rules. |
Quote:
The criterion of determining whether F1's intent is deception (mentioned in OBR 8.05 but not in FED) is to be employed ONLY when the umpire is in doubt about whether F1 has balked. In this case, the umpire should be in no doubt whatsoever. Therefore F1's intent is irrelevant. |
I agree with the balk call here. Once F1 brings his hands together and stops, he is set. If he stares in for the sign, then moves his hands closer to his body, we have a double set.
However, if F1 brings his hands together as in the OP and then leans in for the sign, you must call the balk right then and there. F1 has come set, then made movement that was not delivering the pitch or attempting to make a play. In this case, do not allow F1 to go any farther without balking him. |
Quote:
|
I have many times seen a pitcher put his hands together in front of him with the pivot foot on the plate and the non-pivot foot stretched out about shoulder width. He takes his signs and then sets by bringing his hands to his body and feet together. I am suspecting this is what is happening. If the poster would clarify, maybe we could end this discussion in 3 threads.
Not having been there I am assuming this is what happened. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Don't agree Bob but, thats ok.
|
Quote:
It would be hard to find a better example. |
Quote:
|
Dah me. After re-reading I am throughly convinced that the only one wrong here was me.
Sorry guys. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19pm. |