The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 14, 2010, 07:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Hmmm,

Quote:
"Please tell me that this was incorrect."
Why would you want me to lie to you?

T
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 14, 2010, 07:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 22
Ok, so could you point me in the right direction for the rule that allows the on deck batter to move into the field of play and be struck by a live ball with no penalty? Because if that is the rule it would only make sense to send them in front of the plate on any occasion when there may be a play at home. Had it hit the runner who scored I would think that 7.09 (d) or (e) would apply. The on deck guy being there is what I can't find a rule that applies to that specific situation.

Popcorn
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 14, 2010, 08:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

popcorn,

He's an "offensive teammate". Unless his action is deemed to be intentionally interfering by the umpire, this is nothing but "E3".

There is a rare confluence of factors that might actually convince the umpire that interference should be called - but it doesn't sound like that's what happened.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 14, 2010, 08:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 22
Jm,

Thanks for the reply. My only problem is that by the on deck player leaving the on deck area and moving in front of the plate into the field of play and chest bumping his team mate, how would that not be considered "hindering or impededing" the fielder. The fact that the fielder was unable to make a play on the ball due to the on deck batter and the just scored runner celebrating in front of the plate would by the very definition of "hindering and impeding"

Thanks,

Popcorn
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 14, 2010, 08:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by easygoer View Post
Jm,

Thanks for the reply. My only problem is that by the on deck player leaving the on deck area and moving in front of the plate into the field of play and chest bumping his team mate, how would that not be considered "hindering or impededing" the fielder. The fact that the fielder was unable to make a play on the ball due to the on deck batter and the just scored runner celebrating in front of the plate would by the very definition of "hindering and impeding"

Thanks,

Popcorn
So now the runner and OD batter are in front of the plate - not just in the area - and you want us to believe that a runner who just scored is somehow in front of the plate?

What's your stake in this?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 14, 2010, 09:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by easygoer View Post
Jm,

Thanks for the reply. My only problem is that by the on deck player leaving the on deck area and moving in front of the plate into the field of play and chest bumping his team mate, how would that not be considered "hindering or impededing" the fielder. The fact that the fielder was unable to make a play on the ball due to the on deck batter and the just scored runner celebrating in front of the plate would by the very definition of "hindering and impeding"

Thanks,

Popcorn
There's a difference between "hindering a fielder" and "hindering the ball"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 14, 2010, 09:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 22
Yes, both are actually in front of the plate, and the on deck batter is on the left hand batters box side of the plate in front. He started the play in the on deck circle on the 3rd base side. And yes he and the player who had just scored were chest bumping in front of the plate. I can only assume they thought the game was over as they had just scored the go ahead run. When the no call was questioned the umpire stated there was no interference because "he had just scored". When I pointed out that the person who just scored was not who was hit, but the person who was hit and rolling around on the ground, again in front of the plate was the on deck batter, all the way over from the 3rd base side. He had no answer at that point other than to say no interfernce or obstruction.
And yes I was very much involved, I was coaching the defensive team. Wish they caught better, this never would have happened! I am having a difficult time understanding how two players celebrating in the field of play and being struck by a live ball thrown to the plate to try preventing one of their team mates from scoring is not a violation of any baseball rule.
I guess I should have been more specific in my original post as to the precise circumstances, but it seemed pretty cut and dried to me.

But I admit I had a dog in the fight.

Thanks again,

Popcorn
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 14, 2010, 10:07pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
I appreciate the fact that you appeared to have taken some time to at least look up a rule. If I may suggest, you might want to contact your state rules clinician and ask for an official interpretation of that rule. That being said, there are some very qualified people on here that know at least as much as your state clinician.

Without seeing the play, we're left to make certain assumptions based on your version of the story...which may lead to you not hearing what you want to hear. Keep an open mind and absorb what some of these guys are writing.

Good luck
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 14, 2010, 10:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
There's a difference between "hindering a fielder" and "hindering the ball"
I'm normally right on with Bob, Tim C, JM, and Rich, but this seems like a CLEAR violation of 7.09 (d) or (e)

Seems like in the play mentioned, the players had enough time to get out of the way (in fact, they had enough time to celebrate, so it wasn't a case of the runners/teammates having to disintegrate to avoid interfering). Also, there was a definite (and realistic) attempt to retire a runner when the interference happened. So, I don't see much justification on passing on this...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 14, 2010, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
I'm normally right on with Bob, Tim C, JM, and Rich, but this seems like a CLEAR violation of 7.09 (d) or (e)

Seems like in the play mentioned, the players had enough time to get out of the way (in fact, they had enough time to celebrate, so it wasn't a case of the runners/teammates having to disintegrate to avoid interfering). Also, there was a definite (and realistic) attempt to retire a runner when the interference happened. So, I don't see much justification on passing on this...
bossman,

Why thank you for the compliment.

I've seen quite a few "post scoring" celebrations by an offensive teammate. (Usually, either the ODB who has come over to " base coach" the runner trying to score, or a "just scored" runner) and I have neve seen one interfere with a play at the plate.

Almost invariably, the "celebration" occurs away from the plate on the 3BLX. If the throw hits that cluster, it's a bad throw.

If an offensive teammate enters the natural throwing lane on a play at the plate, I would not hesitate to call the runner out for interference. A "just scored" runner, of course, would be allowed some latitude in this regard.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 15, 2010, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
There's a difference between "hindering a fielder" and "hindering the ball"
While I stand by this general distinction, there's a rule that says if a coach interferes in fair territory, it's automatically interference. (okay, I probably could write that sentence better).

I'd apply the same general philosophy to the play at hand.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ball hits batter cards2323 Baseball 2 Tue May 10, 2005 10:48am
Foul Ball (hits batter in box) jstone999 Softball 14 Tue Apr 26, 2005 05:14pm
Batter hits ball twice while in box chuck chopper Softball 2 Thu Apr 29, 2004 09:40pm
batter hits ball after hits ground kfinucan Softball 13 Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm
ball hits ground then batter amc1 Softball 2 Wed May 29, 2002 07:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1