The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Is that fair? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/57702-fair.html)

yawetag Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 (Post 671012)
C'mon Dash, now you're just makin' sh*t up. There is NO rule that says that. That is not even an official interp. Not a rule in OBR, NCAA, or FED.

Or is this another case where my chain is being yanked?

FED 7-2-1f: A strike is charged to the batter when: a batted ball contacts the batter in the batter's box (foul ball).

mbyron Sun Mar 28, 2010 08:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by yawetag (Post 671044)
FED 7-2-1f: A strike is charged to the batter when: a batted ball contacts the batter in the batter's box (foul ball).

Right: the FED rule expresses explicitly and is based on the (unwritten) OBR interp.

Rich Ives Sun Mar 28, 2010 09:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 670989)
That doesn't make any sense. 6.03 defines the batter's initial position in the box (both feet within the lines). The rule is more lenient when he contacts the ball with the bat (no foot can be on the ground completely out of the box). This means the batter can hit the ball while legally in the box, be hit by the ball and be called out for being hit by a fair ball while out of the box.

I like my version better.

I don't see a problem. The new rule says if the batter is in a LEGAL position, NOT "initial" position, when hit it's foul.

I think he's is legally in the box UNTIL one foor touches the ground completely outsde the batter's box - because he can legally hit the ball up to that point.

dash_riprock Sun Mar 28, 2010 05:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 671076)
I don't see a problem. The new rule says if the batter is in a LEGAL position, NOT "initial" position, when hit it's foul.

I think he's is legally in the box UNTIL one foor touches the ground completely outsde the batter's box - because he can legally hit the ball up to that point.

The rule you posted referenced 6.03 for the batter's "legal position" in the box.

Rich Ives Sun Mar 28, 2010 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 671146)
The rule you posted referenced 6.03 for the batter's "legal position" in the box.

And when does it cease being legal??

The only "guidance" we have is that when he hits the ball with one or both feen on the ground entirely out of the box it's illegally hit.

So up until then, he must be legally in the box.

dash_riprock Mon Mar 29, 2010 05:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 671228)
And when does it cease being legal??

According to 6.03, when both feet are not within the lines of the box.

Quote:

The only "guidance" we have is that when he hits the ball with one or both feet on the ground entirely out of the box it's illegally hit.
That "guidance" is for when the batter hits the ball, not when the batted ball hits him. The new rule defines legal position when he is hit with the ball (6.03). As written, according to the new rule, if the batter is hit by a batted ball and both feet are not within the lines of the box, he is out.

I am sure that is not what they meant, but that is what they wrote.

Rich Ives Mon Mar 29, 2010 08:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 671260)
According to 6.03, when both feet are not within the lines of the box.

So I can have one foot out of the box and be legal?

mbyron Mon Mar 29, 2010 09:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 671260)
According to 6.03, when both feet are not within the lines of the box.

As Rich's question suggests, this expression is ambiguous between:
a. it's not the case that both feet are within the lines, i.e., one or both feet are outside the box, or
b. both feet are outside the box.

I'm confident that you mean (a). ;)

dash_riprock Mon Mar 29, 2010 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 671287)
As Rich's question suggests, this expression is ambiguous between:
a. it's not the case that both feet are within the lines, i.e., one or both feet are outside the box, or
b. both feet are outside the box.

I'm confident that you mean (a). ;)

Thank you. I had hoped Rich would share your confidence.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1